And Another Thing…

Icon

Not Like Riding A Bike At All

This summer the church that I attend is having devotionals on Wednesday nights in lieu of classes since, like most churches, our summer attendance is spotty at best and we have a hard time rallying teachers for this season. Because of our preacher’s absence this week I have been asked to speak this coming Wednesday night. It has been about nine years since I have had to prepare a sermon (not counting weddings) and I have one thing to say: It’s not like riding a bike. Not even close. The past two weeks of preparation have been a serious struggle for me.

That said; I am still looking forward to it. One of the few things that I miss about full-time ministry is preaching, even if all that I ever did was fill-in or pinch hit. Any believers who are reading this: I sure would appreciate a prayer for my message sometime before 7:30 PM Wednesday night, Eastern Time. Many thanks.

Filed under: Faith and Religion, , , , ,

11 Responses

  1. Carl says:

    Looking forward to it Odge.

  2. Doris says:

    Wish I could be there to hear your sermon. I know you will do a good job, as always. A prayer will go up for you by two people in Starkville, MS. Love you, Mom

  3. David B says:

    What are you preaching on?

  4. odgie says:

    Dave B,

    Hebrew 5:11-14

    It’s on “spiritual maturity”…cue hysterical laughter of those who know me well.

  5. Kelly says:

    Wish I had known beforehand bro, I would have said a little prayer for you too. I hope it went well. How’d it feel being behind the pulpit again? They let you handle the big snakes this time?

  6. odgie says:

    Kelly,

    No, I was too busy speaking in tongues and shouting “Satan is a liar!”

  7. Trey Morgan says:

    Well, I’m a little slow … but I’m sure you did a great job. 🙂

  8. David B says:

    Well, you’re still alive. And I’m assuming that tarring and feathering didn’t happen.

  9. odgie says:

    Truth be told, it kind of tanked. I didn’t realize how rusty I am and I made a bunch of newbie mistakes….oh well.

  10. Jr says:

    Odgie: Just saw this most recent post (was in Memphis this past week taking a course). To comment…

    I’m sure you did better in your devotional than you think. If you are like me, we are our own worst critics.

    Just remember two things:

    1)you never know that one sentence you may have said that the Spirit will use to bring a sinner to Himself. Recently a woman came forward in repentance after a sermon of mine and referenced something I didn’t even know I said. THAT’s why we preach, bro. “The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear its sound, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes. So it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.” (John 3:8)
    -and-
    2)God uses people for a reason. We are sinful screw-ups. That’s how we know it was God that did the working.

    It’s an upside-down Kingdom we work for. Remember that. Keep pedaling.

    -Jr

  11. odgie says:

    Jr,

    Thanks for your kind words. They remind me that God often does much with a little. Good thing he is charge, right?

Leave a Reply

