And Another Thing…

Icon

Two Announcements

Announcement One

Yesterday I was offered, and accepted, a new job – same employer (the county community services board), different location, and a raise by three pay grades. The job certainly looks interesting and challenging: I will be the primary therapist and case manager for adults with chronic mental illnesses, providing treatment to them and their families in their homes and in the community. I will be part of a multidisciplinary team consisting of doctors, day support/vocational rehabilitation, and advocates providing services.

To say that I am excited would be an understatement. Of course I am looking forward to the new challenges, new colleagues and clients, the opportunity to pursue clinical licensure, and the raise. But truth be told, I am just as pleased to be free of shift work (especially night shifts) for what I hope is the rest of my life. No more working nights, holidays, or weekends. If one of my clients melts down during off hours, emergency services rolls out, and I deal with it on the next business day. If you don’t understand why this is a big deal for me, consider: for the past 9 years I have worked (internships excepted) exclusively in residential services with a variety of populations, and their problems and needs don’t magically dissipate into the ether at 5:00 pm. Even when I was a supervisor, I had to worry about maintaining adequate coverage to insure my clients’ safety. And while I miss some of my past clients and some aspects of past jobs (even as I will miss some aspects of my current job) I know that I will not, for one moment, miss shift work.

Announcement Two

With a fairly new marriage to a woman whose company I enjoy, a new job that requires actual work (at least 50% of which will be done out of the office), a hoped-for increase in church involvement, and a deep burning desire to see my friends and family again, I think that I am going to have to retire the old blog. My enthusiasm for it has waned as I have mostly vented myself of everything that I wished to vent, and I see no point in posting just to post. I also see no point in keeping a blog to which I won’t be posting on at least a semi-regular basis. I am more than aware of the ubiquitous “Sorry I haven’t posted in a while but I have been so busy!” posts. I am also aware that there are bloggers who are far busier than I who still manage to post consistently good material at a regular pace. I don’t know how they do it, but I know that I can’t. I also don’t place such value on my opinion on every single issue that I feel compelled to share it. Some thoughts can and should remain unposted. I don’t want to end up like this guy. Finally, I see no need to apologize for my erratic posting – I cannot imagine that there is anyone whose life is poorer for being denied my mental bi-products. If there is, then they have my pity.

I am not going quietly into the electronic ether, however. I have decided to close shop with a series of posts on some more controversial topics that I have avoided until now for two reasons: [1] I don’t like pissing contests and [2] absolutely nothing gets resolved in blog debates. I enjoy a good, juicy debate but for every thoughtful, reasonable commenter there are two or three blathering poster children for birth control whose bumper sticker philosophy and canned, clichéd responses to every point stink up the internet and derail any useful discussion. They are truly warts on the rear of humanity and I had no interest in dealing with them. But, at this point I see no reason to not go out with a bang, so that’s the game plan. The series will be called Those Other Things. At this point, I don’t know how many entries there will be but I hope that those who are still reading will stick around for the finish.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , ,

14 Responses

  1. Kelly says:

    1) Congratulations my brother! I know you are excited, and you so deserve to reap all the rewards your hard work has brought to you. I know a lot of clients will be very lucky to have you working with them. 2) I can’t wait to read your “exit” blogs! While I will miss your opinions (not because I can’t get them from the horses mouth, but because you write so well) I totally understand the need to move on and the feeling that you’ve said what you came to say. But knowing the gloves are off, so to speak, I can’t wait to see what’s left in your tank! PMB, Kelly

  2. odgie says:

    Thanks, brother. And rest assured, when this thing shuts down my tank will be empty.

  3. David B says:

    Awww…you’re going down with me. But I am excited to hear your final posts in which you debunk global warming, speak to how God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve, and how we should all do random acts of kindness. I’ve got my bumper sticker machine all ready to print up the results. 🙂

    Many congrats on the new job…you deserve it.

  4. odgie says:

    Thanks Dave. Hope that you’ll chime in.

  5. Frank says:

    Wow, several things come to mind:

    1. Congratulations on the new job! I’m so glad this has opened up for you. Thank God, the giver of every good and perfect gift.

    2. I’m relieved that “this guy” in your post didn’t include a link to my blog. Yes, I checked.

    3. I regret that you’ll be giving up the blog soon. You’ve been one of my favorite bloggers since I first showed up here. Your words make me think and your sense of humor makes me smile. I’m looking forward to the grand finale.

    Newish marriage. Brand new and better job. Enjoy these blessings, my friend.

  6. Lou says:

    Congrats on the job. It’s great to see your hard work rewarded.

    On the blog, I’ll miss it too. Since I can’t walk down to room 106 for the thoughts and laughs, I enjoy finding what you have to say here. This is one of the few that I stop by each day. Maybe a weekly post? That being said, your rationale for stopping is exactly the reason I’ve never started one.

  7. odgie says:

    Frank,

    1. Thanks

    2. No way dude. You dispense your wit only at suitable targets and in an appropriate fashion. I don’t think anybody could read what you have to say and think that you are like the guy in the article.

    3. I probably should have included this in the post, but when something pops into my head that I wish to share I will probably post it on Facebook. If you are on there, I will “friend” you and we can keep in touch. Also, I will continue to peruse the blogosphere as time allows and comment when compelled to. Y’all aren’t getting rid of me that easily 🙂

    And you are right, I count myself blessed over and over again.

    Lou,

    Thank you. And as I told Frank some of my mental biproducts are liable to end up on Facebook from time to time.

    It’s not really that I want to quit blogging, but working nights for the past three years has given me time to think and write it all up, and now I just won’t have that time anymore. And like I said, no point in having a blog and neglecting it.

  8. Trey Morgan says:

    1 – Congrats … I’m happy for you.

    2 – Shucks … I’m sad for me.

  9. odgie says:

    Thanks Trey, but like a persistent cold I will pop up in the comment sections on your blog from time to time.

  10. Erin says:

    I am VERY happy for you and your new job, Mike. I have always thought you had such a gift with people and I’m glad you will have a chance to use those gifts and be compensated for it!

    And I am quite sad you will be shutting down the blog. I am always challenged, even thought I don’t always respond. Sometimes, I don’t respond because I am so challenged I’m afraid I’ll sound like a dope.

    So- excited for you. Sad for us. God bless!

  11. odgie says:

    Erin,

    Thank you. I didn’t know that you were still in the blogosphere…has your blog gone private?

    And please, don’t be afraid to sound off.

  12. Jr says:

    Odgie: Too bad you are retiring – I always enjoyed coming here. But congrats on the job; that is a great blessing to you (3 pay-grades doesn’t hurt!). I admire your heart in what you do. Grace be with you as you do the Lord’s work.

    In other news: Saw Public Enemies. Very strange pacing in the movie; unlike any I had seen before; but Daisha and I left the theater entertained. It was a good one. I recommend it. Tommy guns rule.

  13. odgie says:

    Jr,

    I liked “Public Enemies” and it was Christine’s first Michael Mann film, which she enjoyed as well. Not his best, but that gunfight at the lodge in the woods was one of the best action sequences I have ever seen. I still think that “Heat” is his best, but like I have always said I don’t think that there is a true dud in his output.

    Thank you for the kinds words. I will miss blogging, but when the well runs dry, there just isn’t much one can do.

  14. […] When I started blogging in 2007 I was working nights to get through grad school.  A large part of my job was being there in case anything happened. If nothing happened (which was the case way more often than not) then my primary responsibility was to stay awake. How I did it was up to me. My school work and Netflix subscription were not enough to fill my shifts, so I took to blogging. I had ample time to research, think, and carefully craft my blog. However, I finished school in May of last year and got a new job two months later that I anticipated would be fairly demanding. Being somewhat vain about my writing and expecting to not have the time that I wanted to put into it, I decided to retire the blog and gleefully announced my intention of doing so in July. […]

Leave a Reply

