And Another Thing…

Icon

Summer movies, so far

Star Trek  A whole lot better than it should have been. I was right in hoping that they would keep the cool stuff (space travel, aliens, starship battles, phaser fights, fisticuffs, and camaraderie) and jettison the draggy stuff (wooden acting, cheap sets and special effects, self importance). The casting is rock solid (especially Karl Urban as Bones and Zachary Quinto as Spock) and the story moves like gangbusters with plenty of humor. Granted, like all movies featuring time travel there are some plot holes, but otherwise its great fun. Just one question: does anyone else wonder why alien species look and behave just like us in the Star Trek universe?

The Hangover  Absolutely appalling, but funny as all get-out. Caught this one on a guy’s night while my wife and some of her girlfriends went to see The Proposal. I think the guys got the better portion.

UP  As far as I am concerned, a new classic. Not a false note in this deeply moving, riveting, laugh-out-loud, heartfelt adventure, and I feel no shame in admitting that I choked up a couple of times. How does Pixar make movies with animated characters that seem so real while Michael Bay makes movies with flesh and blood actors who come off like cartoons?

Seen anything good? Seen anything that made you want to sue to get the time back that you spent on it? Sound off in the comments.

Filed under: Movies, , , , , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. Jr says:

    Got to be honest – I was disappointed with Star Trek. I am looking forward to seeing “Public Enemies” though.

  2. odgie says:

    Jr – “Public Enemies” looks like a winner. Michael Mann’s movies vary in quality, but he has never done a truly awful one. If you haven’t seen it, I reccomend his first one, “Thief” with James Caan. You probably figured this anyway, but you definitely want to watch it AFTER the kids go to bed.

  3. Pelagius says:

    I’ll admit that after watching Up, I immediately called Jen, told her she was never allowed to die, then burst into tears as I tried to explain why I thought the movie was just beautiful. It’s not without flaws, but it is yet another triumph from Pixar. I will watch every single film they put out.

    The Proposal was far more amusing than it had any right to be. I only went to humor my wife because she was having a bad day, but I ended up really enjoying it. Ryan Reynolds is stinkin’ hilarious.

    I thought Star Trek was a lot of fun, and I totally agree about the cast. I’m looking forward to seeing where they take it from here.

    Terminator sucked.

  4. John says:

    Terminator wasn’t very good; laughed my butt off (and then looked around) at Hangover – was not expecting what came out of the trunk!; enjoyed Star Trek, but totally didn’t get what the alien dude was so upset about – if he went back to the past, all those people from his planet are still alive and can be saved, yet he is tearing around in space mourning them! I guess they needed something so they could do Star Trek differently with the next 10 movies that come out.

  5. Andy says:

    Star Trek was great and I’m planning to catch the Hangover. I liked up, but am I the only one who thinks Pixar movies are actually a little overdone?

  6. Lou says:

    I liked up and also thought that the new Night at the Museum was pretty good (in IMAX). Kids have changed my theater habits a little. 🙂

  7. Nick Thacker says:

    I agree with you on Star Trek. Any movie that stars “Sylar” (Heroes) is gonna be good.

Leave a Reply

