And Another Thing…

Icon

A lucky child comes into the world

Permit me to indulge in a little sentiment:

My friends Carl and Shayna became parents this past weekend. Like anyone, I rejoice to see any friends become parents when they are ready for it, and surely these two are. I have had the privilege of their friendship for almost 10 years now, and it has been a blessing every step of the way. When I first met Carl, he was a quiet college student. When he finally started talking, I quickly became impressed with his kindness, generosity, and likability. When I first met Shayna she and Carl were dating. She was not a believer, and having her in the class I taught at church challenged me in many ways – I never prepped so hard teaching a class before. I knew she would ask tough questions but she was never unfair or unkind. Over the years the two of them have come to mean a great deal to me, and eventually, to Christine as well. In fact, Shayna was one of Christine’s bridesmaids and she sang a blistering rendition of “At Last” at our wedding.

I feel compelled to celebrate the birth of their daughter, Sophia Marie, not only because I am happy for Carl and Shayna but for Sophia’s sake as well. After 10 years in human services, I know what the odds against a kid are when he/she doesn’t have good parents. In light of this, I am pleased to be able to say that the odds are on Sophia’s side.  Big time.

So congratulations Carl, Shayna, and Sophia. Here’s to a bright future for your family.

UPDATE  Comments for this post are closed. I don’t know why the little comment link is still there. Thanks Leann for letting me know.

Filed under: Uncategorized

