And Another Thing…

Icon

Quick Hits X: The Freakin’ Cold Winter Edition

I am ridiculously jazzed for the final episodes of Battlestar Galacticastarting this Friday. If you have not been watching it, then you are missing out on one of the best shows currently on television and one of the best science fiction shows ever. I caught up with it last summer thanks to NetFlix, and am glad that I did. There are a few dud episodes scattered throughout, but they are more than worth it for the satisfaction of seeing the whole story through.

                                   

Is it wrong that the main reason I am looking forward to the double holiday whammy next week is so that I can get two days off?

                                   

 If you like to read, check out Shelfari. You can friend me under the name Mike M.

                                   

Jackie Chan will play Mr. Miyagi in the upcoming Karate Kid remake. I’m not kidding. So in addition to confidence, self-respect, timeless life lessons, and some sweet fighting skills, the new kid will learn to speak broken English and make grossly exaggerated pain expressions.

I’ve made clear my distaste for most remakes before, but I’m not opposed to them on principle. I think that John Carpenter’s remake of The Thing is brilliant – it’s closer to the spirit of the original story and he managed to up the suspense and paranoia by making the creature capable of mimicking human beings to the smallest detail. Plus, he gave it one of the best endings of all time. But was something wrong with the original Karate Kid? Having caught it again on cable a few years ago, I thought that it was still a decent, emotionally satisfying, feel-good movie. So who needs a remake?

                                   

KHAAAAAAN!!!

Sorry, couldn’t help myself. Ricardo Montalban has gone on to that Fantasy Island in the sky. However, many of us geeks will always remember him as one of the greatest science fiction movie villains ever.

                                   

Again with the geeking: Remember that sweet stinger at the end of the closing credits for Iron Man with Samuel L. Jackson playing Nick Fury? Apparently, being in an actual good movie frightened him, so Jackson may not reprise the role for Iron Man 2.

Filed under: Quick Hits, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. David B says:

    I have no qualms with a Karate Kid reunion, though it has to include at least several features of the original: 1)the strange homo-erotic tension between Danielsan and Mr Miyagi. 2)A pudgy but adorable Elizabeth Shue and 3)During the climatic fight contest the announcer saying “Daniel Larusso is going to fight!” and one of the bad guys saying “Get him a body bag, yeahhhh…”

    These are all non-negotiable.

  2. Frank says:

    Dude, I’m now “Frank B” at Shelfari.

    Didn’t realize you were that into Stephen King. I got his new collection of short stories the other day. I’ve just read a couple of them so far. I’ve read none of his novels(just watch the movies) 😉 So what would you say is the best King novel?

  3. odgie says:

    Dave wrote: “the strange homo-erotic tension between Danielsan and Mr Miyagi.” I don’t remember that…maybe I blocked it

    Frank – That’s a tough question; it depends on taste. Despite his reputation as a horror novelist, he has really written a wide variety of genres. Overall, I would say his best is “The Stand” – but its a commitment. For a fast, scary read I reccomend “Salem’s Lot”, and of course “The Body” which was adapted as “Stand By Me” and “The Shawshank Redemption”.

  4. David B says:

    Sorry…just a bad joke from ESPN’s Bill Simmons.

    After 25 years though their relationship does seem a bit creepy, though. Three movies, and Daniel-san follows him all over the place, wishing to be under the discipline of a caring and sensitive master?

  5. Jr says:

    Dude, BSG: Frackin’ awesome. 10pm tonight – I’ll be there.

  6. Jr says:

    Oh Dee… why did you do that to that beautiful face! ugh… Apollo is such a tool.

  7. preacherman says:

    I feel for you with the cold weather.
    It is going to be 80 today where I am.
    Nice…Wish you could enjoy it! 🙂

  8. odgie says:

    Preach – that hurts.

Leave a Reply

