And Another Thing…

Icon

Must. Not. Laugh.

I am sure that all of you have had the delightful experience of going to see a movie and finding that someone in the theatre has something so important to say that it must come out right now! In the theatre! They can’t go outside, they can’t wait until the movie is over, no, they have to send that text, take that call, talk to their companions right there right now!

I remember a few years ago going to see the inoffensively mediocre Will Smith comedy Hitch with a date, and the woman across the aisle from us took a phone call in the last 30 minutes of the movie. Someone behind her politely asked her to turn it off, and she looked over her shoulder and said, “Drop dead!” She chatted on for another minute or so until someone in the back of the theatre, with one of the deepest, most intimidating voices I have ever heard, said, “Turn that s**t off now.” too which she promptly complied.

Nobody should have to put up with this. Like so many others, I am regularly appalled at the non-existent manners of people in public. So I am trying so hard not too laugh at a recent incident in Philadelphia in which a man was (no kidding) shot for talking during a movie. Fortunately, he was shot in the arm and is expected to make a full recovery.

I know that the shooter’s response was dangerous, irresponsible, uncalled for, excessive, and completely bugnuts insane. I know this. And I agree that he should be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. But I am honestly surprised that this has not happened before. And as sick as it is, I can’t help but be amused. [H/T: First Showing]

Filed under: Movies, Society, , , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. David B says:

    Mike…you might remember from our younger days trips to see movies in Memphis that were in different…um…cultural settings than you and I were probably raised with, a cultural setting in which it was natural to talk back to the movie screen?

    After awhile I stopped going to see full-priced movies there since one couldn’t really watch them by themselves, and instead relied on the dollar movies. I learned to keep my mouth shut and take in the different ways people watched movies and kinda learned to enjoy it.

    Talking on cell phones, which has popped up a great deal in the last few years, is a completely different story, though. That’s just rude in any culture. Being the father of two small children I almost never get to movies these days anyway so I don’t worry about it much.

  2. Roland says:

    I don’t go to movies unless they are huge sci-fi flicks that are best on the big screen such as Iron Man, Lord of the Rings and the like. That’s why I hit the movies maybe twice a year (if that). Why go when it will be out on DVD in six months?

  3. odgie says:

    Dave – I remember those days well. And like you, I have become a big fan of the dollar movie.

    Roland – Like you I try to see the extravaganza pictures on the big screen. Those cityscape shots from “The Dark Knight” just don’t have the same oomph on tv. However, I will see a movie in the theatre if it looks really promising, worth the price of admission, which is becoming rarer and rarer these days. For instance, right now the only movie I want to see in the theatre is “Gran Torino.” I mean, it’s Clint Eastwood!

  4. Shayna Willis says:

    And it looks like a movie where Clint Eastwood is fed up with people who talk in theatres.

    I think in general, that it is sad things have to come to this. No wonder no one goes to the movies anymore. People are rude. And I know I can’t enjoy the movie while there’s someone acting foolish. I’ve never shot anyone, but woe unto the rude person who sits next to me in a theatre.

  5. odgie says:

    For those who don’t know her, let me say that Mrs. Willis’ comment is no idle threat – she doesn’t pack heat but I have seen what happens when someone punches her buttons 🙂

  6. Kelly says:

    I used to have a buddy who wanted to be cremated when he died, have his ashes taken to a concert (another place where the tyranny of the cell phone is a major issue) and thrown on the first person found gabbing away about work or their birthday or ANYTHING OTHER THAN THE SHOW!!! This may sound extreme as well, but it’s got to be better than being shot, right?

  7. Kathi says:

    I invite you to visit my thoughts on the subject at http://smilingkj.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/another-example-of-things-people-shouldnt-have-to-be-told/

    The cell phone thing is out of control. Last night we had a nice quiet dinner disrupted multiple times by a person’s phone ringing and him blabbing about the latest on his Facebook page or by him talking on the phone.

    The other thing about all this (and I am guilty of this) is that we always have to be multi-tasking now. And so it is not enough to simply go see a movie – we have to talk with someone, too. Or it is not enough to simply comment on someone’s blog – we have to have NCIS on, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

