And Another Thing…

Icon

He blinded kids with science

Richard Dawkins, he of The God Delusion and the Atheist Bus Movement in London, seems to have landed on the same side as the fundamentalists for whom he shows such contempt, at least on one issue.

He thinks Harry Potter is eeeviiil!

The prominent atheist is stepping down from his post at Oxford University to write a book aimed at youngsters in which he will warn them against believing in “anti-scientific” fairytales.

Prof Hawkins said: “The book I write next year will be a children’s book on how to think about the world, science thinking contrasted with mythical thinking.

“I haven’t read Harry Potter, I have read Pullman who is the other leading children’s author that one might mention and I love his books. I don’t know what to think about magic and fairy tales.”

Prof Dawkins said he wanted to look at the effects of “bringing children up to believe in spells and wizards”.

“I think it is anti-scientific – whether that has a pernicious effect, I don’t know,” he told More4 News.

“I think looking back to my own childhood, the fact that so many of the stories I read allowed the possibility of frogs turning into princes, whether that has a sort of insidious affect on rationality, I’m not sure. Perhaps it’s something for research.”

Alright, so, let’s see…he thinks that children actually believe in Harry and the rest of the Hogwarts gang? And he thinks Christians are credulous?

Bad children, with your imaginations and flights of fancy! No more storybooks for you, just science textbooks!

I think I may try my hand at writing a children’s book in which the heroes are people who have imagination and some sense of wonder and the villain is a self-important, supercilious old fart who can’t stand that people put any trust whatsoever in things that can’t be proved empirically and [shudder] actually draw some joy from their beliefs and imaginations.

But no, that’s too far-fetched, isn’t it?

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , ,

3 Responses

  1. smilingkj says:

    This topic which you cover so beautifully and with so much humor is one which musicians (and other artists) have been discussing for years – that we are raising an entire generation of people who have no idea how to be creative. And from what is creativity often borne? From being exposed to others’ creative minds and spirits.

    The problem is our fear of creativity – that creative minds and spirits often push us outside our comfort zones and into worlds of Other Possibilities. And so we stifle the creative in order to focus on that which we think we can understand (and maybe even control) – science.

    Of course, God gets the last laugh on that one, He who is the Greatest Creative Mind and Spirit of all.

    This very topic is one reason I continue to do what I do in the church. I feel like worship is one of the last vestiges of creativity – and, I would say, one of the last places where creativity is not only tolerated, but encouraged.

    But that’s another soap box altogether. 🙂

  2. odgie says:

    Kathi – good points on all of the above. What would believers have without the creativity and passion that is part of the faith? Not much.

  3. Harry Potter has been the best children’s literature I have come across since my own childhood. To create that entire world from one woman’s imagination is remarkable. I can’t wait to share it with my kids. But, it is fiction. Why must everything be taken so seriously!

Leave a Reply

