And Another Thing…

Icon

37

So I turned 37 on Tuesday; not a big deal except for me and those that love me. 37 is not one of the cool birthdays, like officially being a teenager at 13, being able to drive at 16, being able to vote at 18, being able to drink and buy guns (a favorite combination of mine) at 21, or having your auto insurance rates drop at 25 (if you’re a white male).

Knowing that my actual birthday was not going to be a good day (I started my internship and had to work my paying gig that night) Chris and I decided to celebrate on Labor Day. We got together with some friends for a righteous feed at Famous Dave’s and then had desert with them at our place. There were a lot of stories exchanged and a lot of laughter and a good time was had by all (I hope). Carl and Shayna win the award for the best card of the evening, as it featured the one and only David Hasselhoff.

The internship: I am working for the local Department of Family Services in the Child Protective Services division. I opted for this placement for several reasons: it is a gap in my experience, I want to see what exactly they do and find out if it is for me, and I think that looking after at-risk kids is a necessity and a calling. Also, my field instructor is the supervisor of his division and being his intern will allow me to get into some policy and administrative work. My first day on the job was not bad; everyone is very helpful and I got to go out on a call. I will share what I can of my experiences, so watch this space if you are interested.

9/2 was not a total bust; my brother was in town so Chris and I got to have dinner with him and hang out a little bit, which was cool.

Oh, I almost forgot: Chris got me 4 great CDs – John Hiatt‘s newest, Same Old Man; it’s not his greatest album ever but the fact is the man hasn’t released a dud in more than 20 years. All of his songs demonstrate the same warm, witty, and insightful writing that has made him one of the most covered artists of the last 30 years, and Same Old Man is no exception.

She also got me 3 CDs by the late, great Danny Gatton; the best American guitar player of the past 50 years and possibly the most underappreciated guitarist of all time. There is a reason that his colleagues called him “The Master of the Telecaster” and “The Humbler.” If you don’t believe me, check out some samples of his work on his webpage or over at Amazon. He’ll make your ears bleed.

Filed under: Music, School, , , , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. David B says:

    Happy birthday, Mikey. I turn 38 today, so with my extra year of wisdom and experience, I can say that 37 ain’t too much different than 36.

  2. Jill says:

    Happy Birthday Mike! We wish we could’ve been there at your birthday dinner. I’m glad you had a good time!

  3. Jr says:

    Happy birthday Mike. Man, you’re getting old!

  4. odgie says:

    Dave and Jill – Thanks

    JR – I’m going to remember that. Expect a sneering e-mail on your 30th 🙂

  5. preacherman says:

    Happy Birthday!!!! I hope you had a great one. 🙂

  6. J D says:

    Hope you had a great birthday! Every birthday is significant because you are significant. Blessings.

  7. odgie says:

    Thanks JD. Hope that you and Maggie are being cared for and are continuing to heal.

Leave a comment