And Another Thing…

Icon

HOAs are the debbil

Apparently, if you live in a decent neighborhood in Frisco, TX and have a pick-up, your vehicle is not welcome.

“Jim Greenwood never dreamed his HOA would have a problem with his new pickup. After all, about 30 percent of all Texans drive similar vehicles.

Then, he received the first of three notices threatening him with fines.

The notice says: “Mr. Greenwood, you’re violating a subdivision rule that prohibits pickup trucks in your driveway.”

Stonebriar HOA board members changed the rules, making exceptions for several luxury trucks, including the Cadillac Escalade, Chevy Avalanche, Honda Ridgeline and Lincoln Mark LT.

But most Ford, Dodge or Chevy pickups are still not allowed on driveways overnight.

“It’s very frustrating and confusing,” Greenwood said. “It’s hard to imagine how an HOA would try to dictate what type of vehicle you can drive and park in your driveway”

Bill Osborn, the chairman of the Stonebriar HOA board, said they also prohibit boats, trailers, golf carts and RVs in driveways.

“The high-end vehicles that are allowed are plush with amenities and covers on the back,” Osborn said. “It doesn’t look like a pickup. It’s fancier.”

Greenwood appealed, claiming his F-150 isn’t much different from the Lincoln Mark LT.

“The response was, ‘It’s our belief that Lincoln markets to a different class of people,'” Greenwood said. “Furthermore, one board member told my wife, that if we don’t like it, we can move.”

The HOA chairman said many Stonebriar homeowners own pickup trucks, but they abide by the rules and keep them parked in their garages.

“A Chevy suburban can be in the driveway. If we had a big Hummer, that could be the driveway. If we had a Lincoln Mark LT, that could be in the driveway. But a Ford F-150 can’t. That doesn’t make sense,’ Greenwood said.”

I could see them not wanting some rust-ridden, dented all to hell junker in the driveway, but a new (or well-maintained) pick-up? Are they that afraid that somebody will identify them as middle class?

The worst part of the story is the statement made to Mrs. Greenwood…”If we don’t like it, we can move it.”  These people need to be pimp-slapped.

[H/T: Preacher Mike]

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , ,

16 Responses

  1. Roland says:

    You know, I hate stories like this as well. It usually comes down to people in power who like that power and love to throw it around. It also is a big example of elitism. We have the same thing in our neighborhood.

    HOWEVER, these people knew the HOA covenants when they moved in. It’s not like it’s a huge surprise or anything. Also, yes, they can move if they don’t like it or they can try to get on the board and change it. Also, in this case, he can just park in the garage.

    Yes, it is elitism. It is a power trip. It’s also an example of whiners who, as many other people do these days, want to whine their way around the rules (or law).

  2. Roland says:

    Also, how do you define “well maintained”? Really, it’s all relative (that goes for the HOA as well…how do they define it?).

  3. Margie says:

    I HATE HOAs with a passion, I think they are fascist and power hungry. We are looking into replacing our windows and because the HOA requires us to have grids on our windows (which we don’t want), will cost us an extra $500…all because someone decided that that looks better…totally subjective!! And yet its costing us an extra $500…ridiculous!!

  4. David B says:

    Every large city has enclaves within it that want to think that they are better than the surrounding slum. Nichols Hills in OKC I know at one time had a similar ordinance to the one you just mentioned; other places have ordinances about what kinds of roofs you can have (so as to not challenge the overall aesthetic), what colors houses can be painted, and the like. It doesn’t bother me so much that a community would do something like this, but what does make it annoying is the exceptions they make for the most high-end of vehicles (most likely those owned by the ones who make the rules). I agree on some level…if you don’t like the rules, move to a place that isn’t quite so snobby.

    Now…how do I get my annoying neighbor just to the south of me to mow my yard more than once a month?

  5. Andy says:

    Wow, I knew the West Plano/Frisco was a very trendy area. It’s probably the World Capitol for Lincoln Navigators and luxury packaged H2’s. They’ve got gated uber-McMansion communities and malls that make Tyson’s II look quaint, so in some sense I’m not surprised. However, for an HOA in TEXAS to ban pickup trucks is borderline heresy. What will they ban next? Bluebonnets and the Texas flag?

  6. odgie says:

    Granted, “well-maintained” is relative; but Greenwood’s pick-up is brand new. Also, they make exceptions for vehicles of similar type that project their desired image, whatever that may be.

    Now suppose another resident buys a Lincoln, Caddy, Mercedes, or BMW and pimps it up: i’m talking about spoilers, tailpipes with a comparable diamater to a compact disc, rotors on the hubcaps, and a purple paint-job. Are they going to fine that resident as well? Technically, he or she is within the rules, but they are certainly not projecting the desired image. This whole thing is a slippery slope.

    And as to moving if you don’t like it, should people who have worked hard and gotten ahead have to give up a peaceful, safe neighborhood and good schools over something like this?

  7. Kathi says:

    And…picking up and moving is not as easy as it used to be. The market is so slow – is someone really supposed to throw their finances into the toilet by potentially carrying two mortgages because of an HOA rule?

  8. Roland says:

    Odgie, maybe they shouldn’t have moved there in the first place or should have read the HOA prior to. I understand and see your point but they knew that going in.

    I wouldn’t really have a problem with banning the Texas flag though. 😉

  9. Kathi says:

    I thought the rules changed after he moved there? Am I reading the article wrong?

  10. odgie says:

    How can anyone abide by the rules when they are completely arbitrary? First they changed them for “luxury trucks” then ban certain brands, not models, because they “feel” (the HOAs president’s exact words) that those brands are not marketed to a high-end crowd.

    My point is that these HOAs seem to be weilding enormous power. And this isn’t over something important, such as schools, roads, citizen patrols, etc. And what are HOAs? A group of private citizens who seem to think that they know what is best for their community.

  11. Roland says:

    It’s a private community. Either park it in the garage, get on the board and change it, get more of your neighbors together to force a change or move. I don’t like it either but..rules are rules and are subject to change.

  12. Kelly says:

    Roland, is it possible you’re a fascist? Every comment you make in this forum has the line, “Well, they shouldn’t be surprised, they knew the rules going in, blah, blah, blah.” Do you always follow the rules without question? You’d have made a great nazi.

  13. Roland says:

    Ah, the old Nazi argument comes up. As always. Comparing a rule about no pick-ups in the driveway to soilders who shoved people into a gas chamber. Niiiiice.

    If you will read my posts, I have been very clear I don’t like many of these HOA’s either. I think many of thier rules are stupid. I don’t just complain though. I have gone to meetings in my neighborhood. I have mailed letters. I have spoken to people. I have sought to change the rules. I don’t just cry and complain about a rule/law (as most liberals do) but I seek to change it, legally.

  14. Jeff Proctor says:

    I used to hate HOAs, until someone gave me a different perspective. They are, essentially, opt-in private governments. Unlike local, state, and federal governments, which you are born into… you choose to join HOAs. They are highly competitive too. You can often move across the street and go to a different one. Despite their flaws (which, btw, are the same flaws that all democracies have… tyranny of the majority) they are, to me, preferable over other forms of government.

  15. Kelly says:

    I wasn’t comparing rules to nazis Roland, I was comparing you. Glad to see you don’t blindly follow all rules though, your posts sure made it seem that way. Personally, I say break every rule in the HOA, make ’em sue you. What a bunch of nonsense. Just because I buy a house near you, in my opinion, doesn’t mean you can tell me where I can park my car. Normally I’m kind of a liberterian, but in the case of HOAs, I say let anarchy rule!

  16. Kelly says:

    Jeff, you don’t choose to join a HOA. You choose a home, which just happens to be policed by a HOA. And if you let them tell you what you can or can’t do, your basicly saying that their opinion is more important than yours. I guess if you can live with that, then you’re good to go. I couldn’t do it. The more they harrassed me, the more pink flamingos (or monster trucks)I’d have to put in my yard. Childish? You betcha! Just how I roll…

Leave a Reply

