And Another Thing…

Icon

…and out the door I went

Hard to believe that the summer is already winding down. Next month I will be starting a nine month field placement (internship) with the local Dept. of Family Services, working with at-risk families and doing some policy work. I am looking forward to the actual work, which looks challenging and also appears to be a great learning opportunity. However, I am not looking forward to the 60 hour work week I will have between the internship and my paying gig. The only course I have left is my final practice course, also a year long.

I will keep blogging as the inspiration strikes, but the well has run low of late. I may post more book reviews as I have been reading a lot lately. I saw The Dark Knight but didn’t post about it as I didn’t believe that I had anything to add that had not already been said; however, it is a great movie, no question…even if you don’t care much for superhero movies. But it ain’t for the kids.

Politics isn’t really engaging me much of late, either. I am still undecided about how I will vote, but I am leaning towards Obama out of spite for those who insist on slandering him as a Muslim, terrorist sympathizer, what-have-you. I know plenty of conservatives and moderates who won’t vote for him because they disagree with his positions; I can respect them and their reasoning whether I agree or not. However, I have no respect for those who won’t vote for a black man just because he is black, or because he has a non-Western sounding name; those who are so credulous that they believe info that they are getting through chain e-mails. Enough; grow up already.

Christine and I will be leaving for a two-week vacation on Saturday, so things will be silent here at AAT for a while. Somehow, I think that the blogosphere will survive without me. See you in mid-August.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. Kelli says:

    hey mike – i just wanted to say… please don’t vote out of spite. everyone who knows me knows the way i lean in terms of politics, and i usually don’t like to comment on or write about politics in the blogosphere. but i would much rather have you vote for obama because you agree with his policies than vote for anyone out of spite. anyway, just my two cents.

    i hope you and Christine have a wonderful and safe vacation!!

  2. Trey Morgan says:

    I liked Dark Knight too, it was just SO long.

  3. Adam G. says:

    I will vote for Obama, because I read his book and think he’s pretty sharp and has a good, doable vision for America. Those who oppose Obama because of things like abortion but support McCain need to take a closer look at McCain’s record and actual stance. My only reservations regarding Obama are in the area of federalism, a.k.a. “states rights.” I think his perspective oversteps the boundary that has long been nearly destroyed by Republican and Democrat administrations, but with that said it I think it will be better than the violations of the current Bush administration.

    Have a good vacation!

  4. Jerri Harrington says:

    We saw the Dark Knight….it was well done. But I’m more of a Mama Mia kind of girl….even though it was basically about immorality put to music. 🙂 I don’t like the dark movies…or the bloody ones…with ugly bad guys. Like I said in my blog, when it got too “action packed” for me, I went to get some coffee. The coffee was good! 🙂 I did think it was interesting how it ended. We’ll miss you! Your blogs make me feel connected to the grown up world these days! 🙂 (This on a day when I wrote on my blog about bouncy balls and stacky toys for Conner!)

  5. preacherman says:

    Hope you have a great week brother.
    Thanks for sharing this with us.
    I love your blog!

  6. David B says:

    COME BACK MIKE…WE LOVE YOU…WE NEED YOU.

  7. odgie says:

    David B,

    Soon brother, soon.

  8. […] that I find myself wishing that it was over long before the election arrives. I have mentioned my disgust in the past with the whole “Obama is a Muslim” meme, but now I am getting just as […]

Leave a Reply

