And Another Thing…

Icon

Quick Hits – Summer Lovin’ Edition

If you read and/or commented on my last post, please see the update.

                   

This past weekend was chaos; controlled chaos to be certain, but chaos nonetheless. Friday evening and Saturday afternoon were initially set aside so that I could officiate at some friends’ wedding. Always an honor to be asked to fill such a role on a day that the bride and groom will remember for the rest of their lives. However, the bride and groom called it off. I don’t know why, nor do I want to know. However, I stand by the contention that a broken engagement is better than a broken marriage.

So, granted some serendipitous free time on Friday, I had a guys night: Famous Dave’s and some cheap cigars on my friend Matt’s back porch. A pleasant, relaxing evening with people I just don’t get to see that often.

Saturday, Christine and I cleaned the homestead in anticipation of her parents’ passing through on their return from attending their grandson’s elementary school graduation in Virginia Beach. We had a nice (albeit short) visit with them. I count myself truly fortunate to have in-laws that I like and who seem to like me.

Sunday afternoon my brother and his girlfriend came up from Staunton to celebrate his birthday and her graduation (Master in Counseling from James Madison University…congrats, Jenny). We took them to see Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers and Steve Winwood at Nissan Pavilion. I had heard several trusted sources expound on what a great show Tom Petty puts on, and he lives up to the hype. He and the band burned through their classics and even provided a treat for me and my brother by playing one of our favorite songs (but not one of Petty’s biggest hits) “Rebels” from the 1985 album Southern Accents. They even threw in a Bo Diddley tribute during the encore.

Steve Winwood put on a great show as well, concentrating on blues covers and his classics from the number of groups he has been a member of. He also demonstrated a proficiency with the guitar that I was unaware of. The highlight of the show (for me, at least) was when he returned to the stage during the Heartbreakers’ set to perform “Gimme Some Lovin’” possibly the most popular song he ever wrote and his biggest hit with the Spencer Davis Group.

Of course, since we were at a major concert venue, there were the requisite drunken and/or stoned douchebags who had to carry on, yell inappropriate things, and vomit on the sidewalk. Otherwise, a good time was had by all.

Monday Christine took the day off and we had a nice quiet day of just us, thank you very much. Monday night I met some of my classmates for dinner (Christine was in her art class). It was good to see everyone without the pressure of Dr. Sunshine hanging over our heads. At least two of my classmates are planning to move soon; one to New York and one to North Carolina. I am surprised that I made good enough friends in graduate school that this saddens me.

                   

I don’t know who I am going to vote for. McCain, who once appeared (to me, at least) to be a man of principle, has pretty much become a waterboy for the worst elements of the Republican Party. How he can even stand to be in the same room as Dubya without spitting in Dubya’s face for slandering him in 2000 is beyond me. None of this takes away from McCain’s heroism during the Vietnam War, but it does make me question his ability to lead our country.

Meanwhile, Obama continues to promise Utopia. That would be nice, but I really want to know how he plans to achieve this. I hope that the change and progress he is promising won’t be built on the backs of working people, the way most things are done now.

                   

Way back in January I made the admittedly safe prediction that all of the candidates would attempt to outdo each other in displays of religiosity. What I did not predict is how bad they would be at it. McCain managed to pick one of the most polarizing, end-times obsessed wingnuts as his spiritual adviser. As for Obama, well, we all know how that one turned out. Meanwhile, atheist bloggers are practically  crapping themselves over the idea that Obama may be a closet atheist or agnostic; yet they approve of his “pandering” to all us gap-toothed, subliterate religious folk in order to get our votes.

I honestly don’t care; I gave up on politicians reflecting Christian values a long time ago. Some may have been committed to the faith when they started out, but the compromises necessary in the pursuit of power have to wear their commitment down eventually. Considering the things that Jesus had to say about power and wealth (and I defy anyone to show me a politician who isn’t wealthy) I find it highly unlikely that any serious contender for the office of president is still devoting their utmost to his highest. I think the best that we can hope for is the person who lies the least. I will be happy if I am proven wrong, though.

Regardless, is it wrong to say how happy I am that Hillary is out of it? Close your eyes and say it with me kids: “No more Bushes, no more Clintons, no more Kennedys”

                   

Mystery quote:

“If you didn’t want him dead, why did you leave him with me?”

 

Filed under: Quick Hits, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses

  1. Shayna says:

    Of course, I love John McCain, so I feel the need to stick up for him a little bit. Perhaps his ability to stand in the room with the very man who slandered him says more about his character than you think. I think it’s an excellent example of turning the other cheek. He also turned down Hagee’s endorsement. And went on the Ellen Degeneres show and stood by his belief against gay marriage. He seems pretty principled and consistent to me. Though, as always, I could be wrong. 🙂

  2. rollerpimp says:

    I hate all politicians. No one can show me any difference at this point . Let’s sink them all in a boat and start over.

    Devil in a Blue Dress

  3. odgie says:

    Shayna,

    Hey we can all be wrong 🙂 I didn’t know about the “Ellen” thing; and I hope that you’re interpretation of his behavior towards Bush is correct.

    But I still stand by my contention that nobody becomes a serious contender for upper-echelon elected office (i.e. Congress or White House) by being Christ-like.

    Rollerpimp,

    You win the no-prize for the mystery quote!

  4. Micah says:

    Voting feels like a joke this year. So I am voting for who ever wont raise taxes. I guess…

    Man, I have wanted to go to Famous Dave’s for a long time. I wish we had one here.

  5. odgie says:

    Micah – The next time you get the chance to hit the Famous, if you haven’t tried it yet, check out the brisket. It’ll make you jump up and slap your granny.

    And like you I am leaning towards whoever is least likely to raise taxes unless someone can justify another tax increase to me (and no, Iraq is not a good reason).

  6. Kelly says:

    First of all, thanks again for a great birthday present! Me and Jenny had a ball. Remind me to regale you with the tale of the mean parking lot piggie the next time we talk! TP & the HBs were really good, and I loved Steve Winwood! And at least the drunks didn’t puke ON us…

    The thing that I found the most aggravating throughout the evening was the constant singing, especially the wrong words, by the fans around us! Like anyone paid to hear you, drunken frat boy! That, and the constant talking on cell phones! The bane of the concert goer these days I guess…

    Why not Bob Barr (or is it Bahr, shows you how much I know,) the Libertarian candidate? Actually, I guess I am overly optimistic, but both of the remaining candidates seem like, while maybe not the religious right’s poster boys, at least principled men. I really believe even Hillary would have been an upgrade! Probably going to get slammed for that, c’est la vie…

    I could go for some Famous…

  7. erinlcox says:

    Glad you got to see Petty finally. The highlight of our concert was most definitely NOT the two drunken lesbian college students who made out all night and then offered us drugs. Nope, that wasn’t the highlight but unfortunately since they stood up approximately 2 inches in front of us, that’s all I actually saw with my own two eyes. Shows you how good the music was though, because even with all that I still enjoyed the concert. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you guys in the next few days.

  8. odgie says:

    Kelly – You’re more than welcome. And I am giving Barr (right the first time) serious consideration.

    The point of my post (which I am not sure that I got across) is that I don’t expect a spiritual leader in my president; I am just bemused at how the candidates are posturing to present themselves as such. I don’t care about their religion, I just wish they didn’t feel compelled to lie about it. Clinton’s claim of faith didn’t prevent him from getting a hummer from an intern, W’s claim of faith didn’t prevent him from starting an unnecessary war and giving the rich an unnecessary tax break at cost to the working class.

    And cell phones are the bane of the modern concert-goer.

    Erin,

    Ha! You know it’s good music when you can pay attention to it amid such…distractions. Be safe on your trip up. We can’t wait to see you, Tim, and little Corban.

  9. Trey Morgan says:

    I keep waiting on somebody to answer the “secret quote”. Can I have a hint?

  10. odgie says:

    Trey,

    Rollerpimp (#2 comment) got it with “Devil in A Blue Dress”. If you haven’t seen it yet, I recommend it.

  11. Adam G. says:

    “However, I stand by the contention that a broken engagement is better than a broken marriage.”

    That all depends on how the broken engagement is handled by both parties. Mine hung over me like a shadow for nearly 9 years.

    As for Obama vs. McCain, I go for the former rather than the latter. McCain is more of the same, and Obama will probably do whatever he can. All politicians promise the world while on campaign. I’ve read Obama’s “Audacity of Hope” and was impressed with his practical and thoughtful insight. He admits the difficulties our society faces, but holds out hope. That said, I do believe he’s too much of a centralist. Then again, I really believed Bush would be a state’s rights/small federal government guy, but the federal government’s size and expeditures in non-security areas has ballooned.

  12. odgie says:

    Adam,

    Whoa…I didn’t know that you had been through a broken engagement. I certainly didn’t intend to trivialize such a thing. I am certain that it is quite painful in it’s own right. Thanks for sharing.

    I understand your feelings about Obama. Sometimes I even share them. He is a potent speaker. Since he and McCain have both written books, I wonder if reading them might help my decision. What is your overall opinion of “The Audacity of Hope” as a book?

  13. Kathi says:

    They DO like you!

    I think that’s the curse upon the first few years of marriage – do they LIKE me or just SEEM to like me? Hmmmmmmm…….

    Just a voice from another in-law! 🙂

  14. Adam G. says:

    I didn’t take any offense at the broken engagement comment, of course. It’s just that the subject was fresh on my mind last week. I had said I had forgiven her countless times over the years, but never allowed any further contact with her. This past week I contacted her, letting her know I forgave her, and asking her forgiveness for blocking her out entirely. I feel free, but emotions are mixed. Now I have real, honest pain in the place of bitterness. And it isn’t exactly “what might have been” pain, as much as just pain over having been rejected in favor of someone else. Forgiveness is the only way forward.

    As for Obama’s book, I think that if you were to read it you would see that there is actually some substance in what the man is saying. I know nothing about McCain’s book.

  15. odgie says:

    Adam,

    I will check out Obama’s book.

    Your honesty regarding your broken engagement is brave and appreciated. What is it that makes forgiving so difficult? Especially when, as you observed, pain and bitterness are the only other options.

    I have stuggled with bitterness in the past, especially when I left the ministry…sometimes the bitterness still comes up when I think about it.

  16. Shayna says:

    Perhaps substance is relative. I read Obama’s book and I thought it had very little to say about anything. I really REALLY wanted to like the book and like the man as a presidential candidate. But I just can’t get behind his ideas because he has very few.

  17. odgie says:

    Shayna –

    Which of his ideas do you find objectionable?

Leave a Reply

