And Another Thing…

Icon

Resist this

Proving once again my truism that small people fight small battles, a group billing itself as “The Resistance” is protesting Starbucks’ current use of it’s original logo.

Retro

Now, the retro logo looks to me like a topless pregnant woman hoisting two giant (or Venti, in Starbucks speak) coconut shrimp. In fact, it reminds me of a recurring dream I used to have when I was single…but I digress. The head of the Resistance insists that:

“[The logo] has a naked woman on it with her legs spread like a prostitute,” Mark Dice, founder of the group, said in a news release. “Need I say more? It’s extremely poor taste, and the company might as well call themselves Slutbucks.”

First of all, anybody in America who calls themselves “The Resistance” deserves an open-handed pimp slap. Resistance, in its proper context, is used for people who oppose fascist regimes at great risk to life and limb. Kids, having an unpopular opinion does not automatically make you a rebel or a hero. Can we all handle this?

Secondly, what are they resisting? A logo? Wow, way to take a stand there, Bonhoeffer.

Personally, I can think of a lot of other things that merit “resistance” if we use the term like they are.

  • Starbucks prices, and those ubiquitous clowns who spend their entire day at Starbucks writing the next great American novel on their laptops.
  • Geico, for continuing with those stupid Caveman ads long after the not-that-funny-to-begin-with joke has run its course.
  • The price of gas
  • Michael Bay movies
  • Country radio
  • Fat, hairy people in speedos
  • The word “awesome”

You get the picture. What about you, gentle reader? What do you think merits “resistance” in our popular culture?

 

Filed under: Rants, , , ,

10 Responses

  1. Trey Morgan says:

    I’m going to get looked down on for this but I must say that if I have to hear “God bless the USA” by Lee Greenwood again, I’m going to shoot myself in the head!

  2. odgie says:

    I hear you, brother. Its a good song and perfect for certain occasions. Otherwise, it should be left alone.

  3. Micah says:

    I loath that song. I have all my life. I am a horrible American.

    Hey, I use the word Awesome. Because man, its awesome!

    You got me on the Michael Bay movies. I’ll write up the tracts. Lets get him gone!

  4. odgie says:

    “I loath that song. I have all my life. I am a horrible American.”

    It takes more than liking a song to be a good American, so it takes more than hating a song to be a bad American.

    “Hey, I use the word Awesome. Because man, its awesome!”

    Again, the word “awesome” has it’s place, but I think it should be used sparingly.

    “You got me on the Michael Bay movies. I’ll write up the tracts. Lets get him gone!”

    Yep, maybe we can get rid of Nicholas Cage while we’re at it.

  5. Adam G. says:

    Leave it to comfortable, middle class American evangelicals to throw a fit over the logo on their disposable coffee cups rather than address the really very serious issues confronting humanity. “Small people” indeed.

  6. Kelly says:

    Hey, Nicholas Cage used to be cool. Remember ‘Vampire’s Kiss?’ “Am I getting THROUGH to you Alma?” And he will forever be OK with me for ‘Raising Arizona.’ “Her insides were a barren place where my seed could find no purchase.” Priceless!

  7. odgie says:

    Adam — “Leave it to comfortable, middle class American evangelicals”

    You just nailed the problem right there.

    Kelly — I do remember when Cage was cool. But he has sold out with such abandonment it is hard to take him serious anymore. Although “Raising Arizona” does buy him a get-out-of-jail free card with me too.

    Odgie

  8. preacherman says:

    I don’t know….I think they put something in their coffee because I can’t resist a Venti Carmel Breve Latte. Yummmmmmm.

  9. Andy says:

    I think you can put Aflac in the Geico division.

    Anything “free” that requires a minimum donation — that’s called a purchase.

    Starbucks, though not for the logo.

    Towing companies

    Misuse of the words “literal” and “random”

    and of course Nick Cage. Anyone who I could probably kick around in the back alley and take lunch money from should not be an action hero. (unless they’re like Ironman and build themselves a killer suit that would destroy me).

  10. Jerri Harrington says:

    What I loathe are styles of vocal “intonation”, for lack of a better word, that seem to catch on with women in particular. For instance, women have taken to pronouncing the word, “thanks” like this: “THnx!”
    I am tempted to reply, “Are you trying to say thaaaaaaanks??” (Like,
    I SOOOOOO hate that!)

    I AM resisting high gas prices by walking whenever I can–and also resisting my tendency to go up and down with my weight.

    I think we should resist spending money foolishly on things we don’t need which add no real joy to our lives….like I don’t care how many time my internet company tries to sell me the newest connection feature, I can wait a few more nanoseconds for my screen to pop up.

    I am resisting premium movie channels which have smut on at night.
    In fact, we have never had HBO or Showtime, because we didn’t want our kids to have access to smut.

    I am resisting all women’s magazines, except maybe Oprah and Good Housekeeping, because they all say the same thing to women, “You’re too fat, you don’t have the right clothes, you don’t know how to organize your house, and you can’t make your man happy–let us help you!” And it is the SAME message every month!

    If I ever see someone sell a teenager (or someone who looks like a teenager) cigarettes or alcohol without carding them, I call them on it, and tell them I will never shop at their store again. (And I don’t.)

    I hate it when companies send me books or something else I haven’t ordered and then BILL ME FOR IT!! Last time one of those companies called me trying to sell me something else, I told the person about receiving an book and DVD on weight loss without my requesting it.
    I told them, I won’t pay for the postage to return it, but I hadn’t even opened the package. They sent me a postage prepaid sticker…but I still have to make the effort. They also took me off of their list–and I still got a call from a salesmen!

Leave a Reply

