And Another Thing…

Icon

One of the many things I love about my wife…

…she doesn’t make me watch chick flicks or chick TV.  In fact, she doesn’t even seem to like them.  I feel compelled to share this because when I peruse the web, I am seeing a rising tide of anxiety over the soon-to-be-released film version of Sex and the City, the popular HBO show that went off of the air in 2004.  Men all over the country seem to be terrified that their significant others are going to drag them kicking and screaming into the theatre on opening night.  In fact, Chicago Tribune columnist John Kass is offering pass cards for men to use to get out of seeing it.

But not me. In fact, Christine is looking forward more to The Dark Knight, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, and The Incredible Hulk.  It’s a good life, kids, if you find the right woman.

Filed under: Movies, , ,

9 Responses

  1. David B says:

    Amen to that, bro. We don’t necessarily do movies because of the kiddos (good thing, too, as she loves a good chick flick as much as anybody), but Angie loves watching sports as much I as do, if not more. Makes a difference in a modern marriage.

  2. preacherman says:

    Odgie,
    Great post brother.
    I am glad my wife doesn’t make me watch her shows either.
    We have two Satalites.
    So I can enjoy sports and the movies I like in the bedroom and she can enjoy her shows and soaps in the living room. Wait shouldn’t I be in the living room? 🙂

  3. preacherman says:

    We both can’t wait to see Indeana Jones, Iron Man for the boys and Speed Racer.

  4. Trey Morgan says:

    God is good! 🙂

    My wife is like yours. She’s more comfortable watching Indiana Jones than she is watching a chick-flick!

    Blessings

  5. Kathi says:

    LOL. A woman’s perspective…I would rather go see that movie with my best friend than Steve any day of the week. The whole premise of the show is friendships between women (my opinion, regardless of the title of the show or some of the other relationships contained therein), so why a woman would want to drag their SO’s to it is really beyond me.
    🙂

  6. Kelli says:

    i pride myself on being a cool wife too. 🙂 i do like my fair share of chick flicks, but i go with my friends and not with Brent. but my favorite movies are the big ones and those i go see with Brent… we just saw Iron Man and can’t wait for Indy, Batman, and all the others coming out this year! YAY for cool wives. 🙂

  7. Kelly says:

    I would be remiss if I did not say that my girl Jenny actually watches MORE sports than me, and loves to go to concerts, so I feel pretty lucky. Our taste in movies is similar, but it’s hard for Jenny to sit still and watch any movie, so I know she really likes it if she doesn’t play on the computer or fall asleep!

  8. odgie says:

    Dave and Kelly – Good for you both, and your ladies. That is one area where Christine and I part ways: she digs baseball, I dig football. However, we both capitulate, let the other one watch what they want, and read a book if we aren’t interested.

    Kathi and Kelli – yours is the reasonable approach. If you want to see something your s.o. doesn’t, why drag them to it? Gather up some friends of like mind and hit the town.

  9. Jenny says:

    What a damn shame they’re called “chick” flicks. Why not “sap” flicks? Or “mush” flicks? Let’s give the cool chicks a break! 🙂

Leave a Reply

