And Another Thing…

Icon

Stuff of interest from around the web

Our fellowship is finally, finally waking up to that whole single demographic (of course, they get around to it after I am married…didn’t these people realize that I had needs?!?!).  A brand new blog is trying to open the dialogue, and Danny Dodd is discussing the unnerving experience of being a divorced preacher in the churches of Christ here. Both merit a look. This conversation is long overdue.

                             

On a lighter note, my fellow geeks (and you know who you are) will like the aptly named Den of Geek website. Filled to the brim with the type of esoteric goodness that a true geek cannot get enough of.

Since it is virtually impossible for any pop culture phenomenon to catch on without “inspiring” a Christianized version, we now have Stuff Christians Like. Don’t dismiss it out of hand though; the writer manages to nail virtually every cliche of the American Christian experience. And its pretty funny in its own right.

                             

Abilene Christian University is changing its policy on student alcohol use.  Expect a brotherhood-wide knee-jerk reaction, with many of our more reactionary preachers, churches, and journals accusing ACU of traipsing merrily down the primrose path…oh wait, they already say that.  Really though, if I lived in west Texas, i’d be hitting the bottle a lot too.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses

  1. Jeff says:

    Odgie,

    That Stuff Christians Like is a good site. Thanks for the point-to. As for ACU, I have to admit that I’m OK with the decision. The rule of policing legal adults (21 and up) and their drinking habits is absurd and unenforceable. Teaching students to behave responsibly will go a lot further than threatening them with expulsion (which usually ended up just being a slap on the wrist instead).

    Jeff,

    Right on all counts. I will have more to say about the drinking below. – O

  2. rollerpimp says:

    Anyone else think it funny that ACU is changing their drinking policy and giving away ipods awhen their new students are declining in registration.??

    Pimp,

    I didn’t know that ACU had a declining enrollment. Coincidence? I put it to the gallery. – O

  3. Joe Palmer says:

    Wow, I am still amazed at thost foolish enough to support drinking from any perspective. It is expensive. It decreases our ability to think and make decisions. It hurts our christian influence. It is associated with every other vice. It is addictive. It is at the best questionable and controversial from a theological perspective. Since it has no redeeming value why should ACU or any Christian support it.

    I know people who have died from alcohol.

    I know girls who are pregant due to alchol.

    I know guys who used alcohol to get girls sexually available.

    I know families who are broken due to alcohol.

    I know familes who grieve for a person killed by alchol.

    So even if you throw out the Bible arguements against alcohol use. Please, please share with me one sane reason for Christian who are to be the light of the world and a city set on a hill to promote it. Please tell me why we should defile the temple of God with it. Please tell me how it helps my Christian influence and makes me better able to share God’s word.

    If you want to call this a knee jerk reaction go ahead.

    I know people who have comitted a crime due to alcohol.

    Joe,

    First, welcome to AAT and thanks for commenting. Second, I don’t think that yours is a knee-jerk reaction. I understand your misgivings about this. As a substance abuse counselor, I see examples similiar to what you have mentioned all of the time. However, please consider:

    ACU is not advocating alcohol use; they are simply not going to police the off-campus consumption of students over 21. This may sound like hair-splitting, but there is a difference between tolerating and endorsing.

    Also, while I am no advocate of alcohol consumption, I am hard-pressed to make a case forbidding it from scripture. Clearly, drunkenness is a sin. But if anyone wants to have a drink once in a while, it is not an issue to me.

    Finally, the examples you mentioned are valid, but these sound like occurences related to excess consumption, not somebody having a beer after work. – O

  4. preacherman says:

    Thanks for these great links brother.

  5. andy says:

    I’ll second Preacherman’s thank you for the links.

    For what it’s worth, I’m also glad to see more of a focus on singles. Divorce rates have long been high and the average age of marriage gets continues to increase, so Churches should react accordingly. In this regard, FXCC actually does much better than most churches I’ve been to. The mere acknowledgment that good people sometimes get divorced would have been too much for some.

    Not having attended a Christian School, I’ve never really understood the almost paranoiac attitude towards alcohol, especially when compared with other less shocking “sins.” From what I can tell from my friends who attended Christian schools, drinking is no less prevalent that it is at state schools. Given that it isn’t condemned by the Bible, it seems like having a slightly more relaxed policy makes sense. For myself, getting really drunk once was a better lesson about drinking than a thousand rules and regulations.

    Andy,

    As a graduate of a brotherhood school, I have to say that you are sadly right about alcohol consumption. In my experience, students at Christian schools are just more careful about it.
    I will write more about this below. Thanks for kicking in. – O

  6. odgie says:

    Wow, the ACU business stirred some strong reactions.

    I don’t have feelings about this one way or another. However, I will say drinking may be one of the least of the problems facing most Christian schools. All of the rules focus on behaviors and externals; do this or don’t do that. However, none of this addresses the development of an internal faith that will guide responsible behavior. What’s more, at least during my time, the rules were selectively enforced. A rank and file student might be sent packing for drinking, but intercollegiate athletes were allowed to do pretty much whatever they pleased. This is the worst kind of favoritism and is in fact condemned in scripture.

    The rules at Christian colleges focus on appearances and externals, often to the detriment of the students and the campus environment. What kind of measure is drinking, anyway? I know non-believers who don’t drink for health or employment reasons; does this make them right with God?

    Thanks to everyone for kicking in to the discussion.

  7. Kelly says:

    I agree it makes sense to relax the rules, as controlling adult students off campus behavior is impossible. To me, negative reaction to this is an example of christians focusing on overly specific rules instead of souls. Teach your children to avoid immoral behavior and they can make up their own minds if drinking is helpful in that cause. Ban something from them and how much more tempting that thing becomes!

  8. Micah says:

    I don’t see all the hullabaloo on the ACU thing. The more we focus on matters like this the farther we drift away from Christ. I believe Hebrews talks about this.

    Den of Geek and Stuff Christians like are now bookmarked and dailies for me. Thanks for the links!

  9. xybatt says:

    We must treat adults (even Christians) like adults. If we think that we can forbid drinking or any other activity with a rule, we are mistaken. We also can’t allow excuses for behavior. Someone said alcohol made someone get pregnant. As a healthcare professional……I think probably sexual activity would be to blame.

Leave a Reply

