And Another Thing…

Icon

Bride of Quick Hits

I am really, really tired of school. I have never looked forward to the end of a semester more in my life.

                             

By now i’m sure that everyone has heard that Charlton Heston passed away Sunday night. I wouldn’t call myself a fan, per se, but I could appreciate his larger-than-life bearing, natural gravitas, and how good he could be when he put his best effort forward. If you are snickering at this point, can I suggest Heston’s favorite of his films, Will Penny?  It’s a great little western about an aging cowboy/gun hand facing a choice about whether to continue with his rootless ways or settle down and try to build a life.  Mark Evanier has a good take on Heston here, and Gareth Higgins of the God’s Politics website offers a Christian perspective on Heston’s life, career, and often controversial politics here.

                              

Sad news for fans of alternative country: No Depression magazine will cease publication with its May-June issue, #75.  Since 1995, this magazine was a resource for great writing about real country music and for finding out about promising new bands and new releases from old favorites.  However, they will continue with their website and the two founders both have blogs here and here. In related news, Kenny Rogers is still touring.

                             

Finally, something America and France can agree on: Mass protests in Paris thwarted the passing of the Olympic Torch through the city. The protests were in response to China’s human rights record. One has to wonder: Does the current regime really believe that they have the world fooled? Do they ever hear about these protests and think, “Hey, maybe the jig is up?”

                             

Would someone please explain to me what emergent and emerging churches are, and the difference? Because I still don’t get it.

                             

My old friend Dave (no liberal, by the way) believes that the Republican Party is destroying the country, and makes a pretty compelling case for it here.

                             

Mystery quote: “As I write these words, I am holding a rapier in one hand and a pistol in the other.”

Update: The author of the above quote was Sir Boyle Roche (1736-1807).

Filed under: Quick Hits, , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses

  1. Micah says:

    I was sad about Mr. Heston’s passing. I love Ben Hur. About the Olympics, I’m not watching them this year. Like it matters in the long run. But its what I can do.

    I never thought I would be agreeing with Mac using Hornrim glasses wearing starbuckers. But hey I am. China Sucks. Free Tibet! (I can’t believe I just typed that.)

  2. Kelly says:

    The quote sounds like something Custer would have said or written. That’s my best guess.

  3. Kelly says:

    The quote sounds like something Custer would have said or written. That’s my best guess.

  4. rollerpimp says:

    Not that I have read it but I am going to guess that it is something from the Dark Tower series.

  5. odgie says:

    Kelly and Pimp,

    It’s an historical figure, but think European. Also, you might want to Google it.

  6. […] Emerging, Rob Bell, things I don’t get …but nobody has answered a question I asked in a post earlier this week and I wonder if it got lost in the shuffle. Just in case, I will ask […]

Leave a Reply

