And Another Thing…

Icon

Prayers requested

A member of the church that my wife and I attend appears to be in the final stages of his battle with cancer. Bob, whom I have mentioned here before, is a career FBI agent, a happily married father of five, and one of the best teachers and layman apologists I have ever heard. I will let the e-mail I received tell you his status:

The doctors want to do another round of treatment.  This will take about 3 weeks.  He said he would not go through with another treatment except for his children.  The doctors would give him 10 days to 2 weeks to live if he does not continue with a treatment as the cancer will return with a vengeance.  So, he is willing to do more treatment.  Even at that, he has 6 months.  One of Bob’s brothers will go to AR to be with him this week and Dick Garner, a former member, will be with him a week from Sunday.  Bob asked for prayers for his physical strength, but also for his mental stamina to stay strong.  He wants to fight the fight, but the pain is so bad that he would like it to pass him by.

For almost two years Bob has fought a hard fight against his illness so that he could be around for his wife and children. Believers, please lift this brother and his family up in prayer, along with the doctors tending to him.

Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Responses

  1. preacherman says:

    Odgie,
    I will be praying brother.
    I have one question: Have the elders gone, anointed him with oil and prayed over Him?
    James 5:13 says “Is anyone in touble he should pray.” Which we are doing. Vs. 14-15 “Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up.” I believe the laying on of hands is so important when someone is sick. I would like to share a time when I was in the hospital one of the nurses aids ask if he could pray over me. It was 3 a.m. I said sure. I couldn’t move my leg. My left side was extremely weak from the GBS. He came over to my bed He didn’t have oil because he was working. But he placed his hand on head and the other hand on my left said. He prayed for healing. He prayed for strength in the name of Jesus. He prayed Psalm 103 “Praise the Lord O my soul, all in my inmost being, praise his Holy name. Praise the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all of his benefits- who gives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems us from the pit and crowns us with compassion, who satifies your desires with good things, so that your youth is renewed like the eagles.” As he prayed. I could feel a supernatal warmth moving throughout my body. I could feel my legs getting stronger and the left side as well. Then he amened and left about 4:00. A couple of days later he came in my room again. I asked him to pray for me again. He was willing to and did. He placed his hand on my head and as he prayed he prayed for the Holy Spirit to annoint me and feel my body. As he prayed I could feel a supernatural warmth moving deep down into my chest. Tears were comming out of my eyes. He prayed for me as a leader that God would feel me with his Holy Spirit and that I would preach the message of Jesus Christ bodly. He prayed for financial freedom. He prayed for my sons. He prayed for generational cursees to be broken in my life. I felt so free. It was so wonderful. He pray for me to make a difference spiritually in the Church but most importantly for His Kingdom. It was beatiful, powerful prayer. Over the next few days. My depression got better. I started walking with the walker more and more and the first thing that I was able to write in occupational therapy was: “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” I am so bless to have supportive wife, family and most all Church.

  2. odgie says:

    Preach – That’s an amazing story. I don’t know if the elders have done that or not, but I will find out. Thanks much.

  3. Margie says:

    Odge, thanks for sharing about Bob, I didn’t know he was that bad off…it does break my heart, just like it did when Sarah died even though I don’t know either family personally it just kills me to know they have to go through something like that. But, I do have to say, that at least they are both Christian families. Even though sometimes it seems like to us Christians that we should be shielded from things like that, I just think about my late aunt’s family and how they had to deal with her death all on their own and that hurts me even more. I would not want to be my cousins and lose my mom without knowing me or her knowing God. They’re dealing with it in their own way, but not with other Christians and God to hold on to. So while it hurts to hear about things like that, it really tears me up when I hear about non-Christians suffering because they have NOTHING to fall back on.

  4. […] received word this morning that Bob, whom I have mentioned before (here and here) passed last night after a brutal battle with bone cancer.  Words fail me at this point. […]

Leave a Reply

