And Another Thing…

Icon

Valentine’s Day 2008

 Christine and I celebrated Valentine’s Day with a phone call this morning since she is overseas on business right now. I hate that she is gone, but I can’t say that I am terribly upset with her being gone on Valentine’s Day. I have never been a fan of this holiday. I think that the candy, flower, and greeting card industries make plenty of money the other 364 days of the year. But that’s just me. If you love the one you’re with, is there ever a bad time to let them know it?

This won’t be one of those cloyingly sweet posts where I gush about how my wife is “the bestest ever!” for two reasons: First, if she was perfect, she wouldn’t have married me. Secondly, I have only been married once and have no real basis for comparison (nor do I want one).

But I will say that I miss her; I miss her for the same reasons that I married her. I realized very early in our relationship that she was somebody that I wouldn’t get tired of; I would always be happy to see her at the end of the day. She is fun, smart, thoughtful, affectionate, compassionate, energetic, adaptable, and endlessly patient.  She enjoys a fishing trip as much as a night on the town. She laughs as hard as I do at the same things. She is a whiz-bang cook. She loves Jesus and the church, but not sanctimony or hypocrisy. She can hold her own in a conversation whether the topic is politics or the movie we just watched. She is willing to try anything (in fact, she recently told me that I was turning her into a music snob…yes!).  And I will never be able to repay her for 4 years of tolerating life with a grad student. When I get my degree, I will be able to say to her, “I couldn’t have done it without you” and mean it.

But now I want to say to her be safe, enjoy your trip, and come home quickly. I’m waiting, and I love you.

Filed under: Uncategorized,

3 Responses

  1. Sounds like you are a very blessed man.

  2. preacherman says:

    You sounds like you are very blessed brother.
    I pray that God continues to bless you in the name of Jesus Christ in every aspect of your life.
    I hope you have a blest week brother!
    In Him,
    Kinney Mabry

  3. Odgie says:

    Frank and Kinney – You are both so right; she is a blessing.

Leave a Reply

