And Another Thing…

Icon

Roy Scheider, 1933 – 2008

scheider1.jpg

 I was sorry to learn of the passing of Roy Scheider, the veteran actor best known for playing Chief Martin Brody in Jaws.  Scheider’s career heyday was during my childhood, so in some ways he is a part of many of my fondest movie memories. I was too young to see Jaws when it was first released, but I do remember watching it on TV with my brother several years later, literally sitting on the edge of my seat thinking, “Oh man, he’s gonna eaten!” over and over again.  Scheider also gave memorable performances in The French Connection (for which he was nominated for an Oscar), 2010, and Blue Thunder.

There was something about him that was so likable and trustworthy. A naturalistic actor not given to showy melodrama or “it’s all about me” histrionics, he sold me in every role I ever saw him in. He looked and acted like a guy who you might know and actually enjoy hanging out with. Rest in peace, Mr. Scheider.

Filed under: Movies,

5 Responses

  1. Kelly says:

    He was great as Dustin Hoffman’s secret agent brother in “Marathon Man” too. I think he was really underrated. Anybody seen him in anything recent? Odgie, didn’t you say he had a recurring role on some show as a Mob boss? I bet he was great at that!

  2. odgie says:

    Dude, I can’t believe I didn’t think of “Marathon Man”! What a great movie that is too. And yes, he played a recurring Russian mob boss on “Third Watch”, and was great at that as well.

  3. Carl says:

    To me he was the captain in Seaquest DSV. I thought he was a great actor as well.

  4. Tim says:

    Marathon Man for some reason came to my head before Jaws. Seemed like a fun guy.

  5. Now this is just SAD! You were too young to see Jaws! and watched reruns on TV. Jaws was to you what Psycho was to me…..I watched an old rerun without permission, hiding behind my dad’s chair and peeking around it while my parents were watching. I was about 7. I still can’t take a shower without a towel close by to dry my eyes in a hurry if I feel like someone my be sneaking up with a knife! Jaws! was one of the movies Don and I went to see when we were engaged. At that time, I had never seen the ocean. At that time, I didn’t want to. Now, I just try not to think about sharks, like I try not to think about terrorists when I go downtown….or knives when I take a shower! 🙂

Leave a Reply

