And Another Thing…

Icon

Aliens…whoa.

day_the_earth_stood_still_1951.jpg

First it was The Manchurian Candidate, then Halloween, now another completely unnecessary remake is in the works; one of the greatest science fiction (or any other genre) movies of all time, The Day The Earth Stood Still. What’s more, the remake is going to star Keanu Reeves as the heroic alien Klaatu. I can hear him mumbling the classic lines right now… “Klaatu barada nikto, dude.”

If they are going to continue to ransack the classics, where does it end? How about a remake of Casablanca where Rick and Ilsa end up together? Or a remake of Cool Hand Luke where Luke gets away at the end? Shameless I tell you, shameless.

Filed under: Movies, ,

9 Responses

  1. Trey says:

    Actually I like remakes. The reason? Because they can’t come up with an original fresh idea of their own. How about jason and the Argonauts? That one kind of scared me when I was a kid.

  2. preacherman says:

    It would be an awesome re-make for our time.
    The message in the first one would be so relevant to todays culture.

  3. odgie says:

    Trey – You are so right about the absence of original ideas. And “Jason & the Argonauts”, if done right, could be quite cool. What scared you, the skeletons? They gave me the willies too.

    Preacherman – You’re right that the message of “The Day the Earth Stood Still” is more relevant today than ever. In that light, a remake could serve a purpose. I still object to Keanu, though.

  4. preacherman says:

    Odgie,
    I would always object to Keanu.
    The only thing that he was good in was the first Matrix and that is it.
    I hope they don’t cast Keanu pleeeeeeease noooooooooo!!!!! 🙂

  5. preacherman says:

    I can’t wait until the new Indiana Jones movie.

  6. Pelagius says:

    The crazy thing is that I’ve been intending to watch this movie for years now, but only got around to it a couple of days ago. One of the first things I thought about as it was ending was, “Could this movie be adequately re-made?” I decided that it couldn’t. And now that I know a potential re-make might include Keanu Reaves, I definitely don’t think it can be done.

  7. rollerpimp says:

    One remake that I can think of that was way better than the original…

    The Thing – John Carpenter does an amazing job on turning a really crappy movie into a fun, scary gorefest.

  8. odgie says:

    Oh yeah, Carpenter’s remake of “The Thing” exceeds the original in every way. I have no problem with remaking crappy movies with good but poorly executed premises.

  9. Frank says:

    “The Day the Earth Stood Still.” That’s from Joshua, right?

Leave a Reply

