And Another Thing…

Icon

Quick Hits: The Revenge

I recently had my first (and hopefully last) root canal. There was a crack in the one filling that I had and the tooth went bad, so I paid my first visit to an oral surgeon. It was not the nightmare that I have always heard. The Novocain worked well and the pain afterwards was minimal, less than a stubbed toe. The only part that I did not like was seeing smoke rise from my mouth during the procedure. That scared me a little bit. A couple of days later my dentist put in a temporary crown, and in a couple of weeks I should have my permanent one. The temp crown is silver; I was hoping for a gold one with a dollar sign on it so that I could take pictures of it and call it “Pimp My Mouth.”

__________

Upgraded to a new cell phone and I am still figuring out how to work it. If you call me, be patient.

__________

One of Christine’s brothers lives in Austin, TX, and is constantly trying to sell us on the idea that we need to move there as soon as possible, or at least visit. He sent us links to all of the music venues, BBQ, and Mexican food places and after looking at them I really want to go like right now!

__________

Have you ever noticed…

…that people who say that they don’t care what anyone thinks want to make sure that everyone notices that they don’t care?

…that most self-proclaimed free-thinkers sound alike?

…how stupid people sound when they talk about how smart they are?

__________

Have you seen the ads for a new movie called In The Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale? This looks like a bowel movement on celluloid. First of all, it’s based on a video game. Second, it is a medieval fantasy movie with Burt Reynolds and Ray Liotta. Yes, that’s right, the Bandit and Henry Hill are going to be in a sword and sorcery epic. These could be the funniest instances of miscasting since Harvey Keitel played Judas of the Bronx in The Last Temptation of Christ. What happened to Burt and Ray? They both used to be so cool. Maybe Dom DeLuise or Jerry Reed will cameo as wizards or knights or something. Come to think of it, I might want to see that just for the train-wreck factor.

This raises a question for you: What are the funniest mistakes in casting that you have ever seen in a movie?

__________

Predictions for 2008

  • Free radio will continue to suck
  • The mega-church movement will continue to implode
  • Atheists will blame Christians for something
  • Bush will say something stupid
  • The candidates for president will try to outdo each other in displays of religiosity
  • I probably will not like our next president
  • A celebrity will do something deplorable then apologize and go to rehab
  • The networks will barf up more reality shows

What do you think will happen in 2008? 

 __________

Mystery quote:

“Doesn’t give me anything. But along with these other results, it gives YOU just about the most twisted, anti-social bunch of psychopathic deformities I have ever run into…you’ve got one religious maniac, one malignant dwarf, two near-idiots… and the rest I don’t even wanna think about”

Hint: It’s from a war movie. Peace.

Filed under: Quick Hits, , , , , , , ,

11 Responses

  1. johndobbs says:

    Miscast: Whoever the dudes are that play John the Baptist and Peter in the Visual Bible Matthew. Did they run out of time in the casting call?

    Phone: How did you choose and what did you choose? I am about to purchase a new phone but I can’t decide between a simple phone phone, or one of those blackberry devices that is a computer, phone, camera, video, everything rolled up in one device. And then there’s iPhone… with a lot of drawbacks…unless they’re about to come out with second generation which will be much better I’m sure.

  2. preacherman says:

    I finally got tired of free radio sucking so I got XM for the car and the house because we live out in the middle of nowhere. I love XM Radio and it is pretty reasonable if you pay yearly. The Mega Churches I’m not sure…. I have a current post on RELEASING THE POWER OF THE SMALLER CHURCH it is based on the book by Shawm McMullen. I would love for you join in on conversation if you like. I sick of reality shows. Television CEO’s need to come up with something new and fresh for Americans. MTV needs to start playing video’s again. VH1 the same. Those Guys need to be fired and video’s need to played again. I love your post brother it is great you say alot of what I think needs to be said. Again, would love your input on the small churches if you like. God bless you brother. I hope you have a great day!

  3. Brian says:

    I don’t think any movie ad has made me not want to see a movie as much as commercials the Name of the King (considering I like the genre). I really thought it was a new sci-fi tv show on one of the odd networks. the quotes are ridiculous and you are right, ray liotta has fallen far. He was in Goodfellas!!

  4. odgie says:

    John – My cell phone service provider is Verizon Wireless, and they give free upgrades every two years to subscribers. I was using their company brand, LG, and just traded it in for a newer model, the LG VX8350. I am not a big technology guy, so I got the most basic they had. As it happens, that now includes a stillshot and video camera. I have friends who have Blackberrys and love them; but honestly they intimidate me a little bit.

    Preacherman – I will visit the discussion on your blog this weekend. Thanks for commenting and the invite.

    Brian – Welcome; always happy to have new readers. Poor Ray Liotta…

  5. Trey Morgan says:

    I hate free radio too … I’ve gone Sirius and Ipod. As for cell phones, I’ve been extremely happy with my Moto-Razr.

    Blessings

  6. Andy says:

    Austin definitely is a fun place. It’s the self proclaimed live music capital of the world, has great food and atmosphere, and lots of bats.

    I’m trying not to visualize a bowel movement on celluloid

    And your predictions are about as risky as predicting the sun will rise 😉

  7. odgie says:

    Trey – When I finish school and have a little more disposable income, we will probably go Sirius ourselves. I do love me some iPod.

    Andy – I have been to Austin before, but it’s been over 10 years.

  8. My brother loved Austin. I’ve never been there, but I have heard it’s a cool place for young people. (Boy, do I sound old!)
    Great music groups go through there. Texas is way more laid back than we are here. Reul Lemons started a church there, and I understand they are awesome–they have a drug outreach program…etc.

    In 2008, I am hoping for great things….I’m looking for God to do more than we could ask or imagine. I personally am planning to lose 100 lbs. I have been doing a year long Bible study on all of the subjects pertaining to me getting this part of my life under God’s control….it’s a life long battle, so I really need His help. I’ve never made a year long effort…consistently, so I made a year long committment on Jan. 1st. It’s not trivial for me–I have diabetes–it’s something that threatens my life. I’m not sure about the President–nobody is impressing me yet. I’m hoping we get off of the controvery in the church and get about sharing the gospel with the lost. Every twenty years or so, controversies come along, and most of the time they just take up a lot of time….changes will happen….people will resist change….but I think the important things never change. Jesus died for our sins, the gospel is the same, and God never changes. We need to love Him, one another and the lost. We can’t become cynical or jaded, because there is too much to be in awe over! (I know…don’t end sentences in prepositions, but I’m too tired to care….)
    I’m weary and worried about the cynicism I hear in the church these days….I think that happens when we spend too much time looking at one another and ourselves and not enough time looking at Jesus and His love for us and the lost. I think we lose a lot when we give up our servants’ towel to take up a cause. We are all just unworthy servants, at our best.

  9. odgie says:

    Jerri – 100 pounds?! Best wishes on that. I hope that you will share your secrets on your blog. Regarding your comments about cynicism, I have to plead guilty as charged. Maybe refocusing (as you suggested) will help. Always a pleasure.

  10. Hey, Mike, I wasn’t accusing you of cynicism….although I am guilty of it myself sometimes. I am just weary of it in almost every venue…even when it comes to the way people look at the future of our country, etc. I just need a little hope and optimism. I’m not opposed to seeing things the way they are….but I truly believe God is taking us somewhere….maybe it’s home to Heaven with Him. Either way, we can’t lose when He’s in control. I don’t have any secrets about weight loss….I’m completely at God’s mercy on this one. It’s been a life long problem for me, but I will share what I learn on my blog. I enjoy reading your blog! It’s always thought provoking!

  11. Adam Clark says:

    Have you ever noticed…

    …that people who say that they don’t care what anyone thinks want to make sure that everyone notices that they don’t care?

    …that most self-proclaimed free-thinkers sound alike?

    …how stupid people sound when they talk about how smart they are?

    ——

    You don’t know how right you are my friend!

Leave a Reply

