And Another Thing…

Icon

Three bits on religion

There is an on-line quiz that purports to determine where Christians stand on the theological spectrum. Below is my score. It’s not 100% accurate (are these things ever?), but I have to say that I am a little surprised that Wesley and the Methodists seem to pop-up so much in my theology.

What’s your theological worldview?

You scored as an Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan

Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan                                                  89%

Emergent/Postmodern               `                                               64%

Neo orthodox                                                                           57%

Classical Liberal                                                                        50%

Reformed Evangelical                                                                39%

Fundamentalist                                                                          36%

Charismatic/Pentecostal                                                             32%

Modern Liberal                                                                          29%

Roman Catholic                                                                         18%

__________ 

Also, check out the New Year’s Resolutions for Televangelists over at the Wittenburg Door blog. It’s a hoot.

__________

Finally, I swiped this from Mark Elrod’s blog. I am not sure what this picture is supposed to represent, but something about it weirds me out.

jesusoffice11.jpg

Filed under: Faith and Religion, , , ,

10 Responses

  1. Trey says:

    The picture wiggs me out too.

  2. David B says:

    Is that picture any more bizarre than the glossy 8×10 of the same whitey that many people have in their dens?

    I also am primarily evangelical holiness/Wesleyan (86%), closely followed by neo-orthodox.

  3. Andyr says:

    I also scored highly in Wesleyan, but I also didn’t understand some of the q’s or didn’t know the theologian being referenced. With other q’s there seemed to be implications that I wasn’t sure what to make of. In other words, I’m not very confident in the results.

  4. odgie says:

    Trey – Do you know what bugs you about it? Because I cannot put my finger on it.

    Dave – No, it isn’t.

    Andy – Having studied this stuff in college, I still wasn’t terribly confident in the results either. It listed the 3 c of C people I know who have taken it all as Wesleyans…coincidence?

  5. What’s your theological worldview?
    You scored as a Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
    You are an evangelical in the Wesleyan tradition. You believe that God’s grace enables you to choose to believe in him, even though you yourself are totally depraved. The gift of the Holy Spirit gives you assurance of your salvation, and he also enables you to live the life of obedience to which God has called us. You are influenced heavly by John Wesley and the Methodists.
    Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
    100%
    Fundamentalist
    71%
    Emergent/Postmodern
    68%
    Charismatic/Pentecostal
    64%
    Classical Liberal
    61%
    Neo orthodox
    50%
    Roman Catholic
    46%
    Reformed Evangelical
    43%
    Modern Liberal
    18%

    Rate this Quiz
    That’s pretty much me, I guess. But I don’t think quizzes can give the whole picture…and my theology changes every year as God grows me up. Hmmmmm….influenced by Methodists, huh? My college roommate would be pleased! 🙂

  6. rollerpimp says:

    It looks like the black guy is Christ’s agent. Jesus Christ, Superstar.

  7. preacherman says:

    Odgie,
    I want you to know I added your blog to my favorites. I hope and pray that you have a great 2008! May God bless you beyond your wildest dreams. Jesus can do more than we ask or imagine. May we all get out and proclaim the message of Jesus and turn the world upside down for the cause of Christ in the communities in which we live.
    In Him,
    Kinney Mabry

  8. odgie says:

    Hey Kinney –

    Thanks for stopping by. You are on my blogroll as well. Happy 2008!

  9. beckyreeves says:

    Hey Mike! I took the quiz and I came out 93% Wesleyan, so I guess I’m more Methodist than you!! Hope you and Christine are doing well! I still haven’t seen a picture! Have you posted some and I’ve just missed them? David says to say Hi. Love you! OH, the picture with Jesus is just awful, that’s why it bothers you!

  10. odgie says:

    Hi Becky! My best to Dave, your kids, and the rest of your family. By the way, you can see pictures from the wedding on my Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

