And Another Thing…

Icon

Quick Hits III: 3-D

  I am ever-so-slowly getting into the Christmas spirit as the holiday gets closer. I have struggled with grinchiness (or scrooginess, if you prefer) in the past few weeks. My reasons are neither original nor profound. First, I hate that Christmas hype begins earlier each year. I have neither the energy nor the inclination to worry about gifts in October. Second, I hate shopping for any reason, especially buying things for people that they don’t really need or want just to have something to put under the tree. Third, I hate the political correctness run amuck of the so-called “Christmas wars.” As I have said before, it doesn’t bother me in the least when the girl who charges me for my coffee says “Happy Holidays” rather than “Merry Christmas.” Besides, anyone who knows their history knows that many of the rituals associated with this holiday were ripped off from pagan religions. Finally, I don’t really need anything besides money. Hey, I know it’s crass, but that’s the truth.And yet, and yet…I had a great time shopping for a tree and putting it up with Christine the other night. I am genuinely looking forward to decorating it, as well. I fully expect to catch It’s A Wonderful Life on cable in the next few weeks and I will probably choke up at the end just like I always do. I am enjoying hearing children talk about Santa Claus, getting Christmas cards from friends and family, and the generally better attitude I am encountering wherever I go. So maybe I can beat back my scrooginess this year without a visit from three ghosts…

__________

Quotables

“We do not see the early Christian communities in the streets railing against the sins of their culture. Without compromising the moral vision of scripture, they are being transformed into an alternative community, where the fruit of the Spirit and the law of Christ fulfill the moral vision of God in those made in the image of Christ.”

From “C.S. Lewis and Christian Morality (with some thoughts on the culture war)” over at Internet Monk.

And:

It’s time to recognize, and celebrate, our differences.  Joining the celebration of religious expression is easy:  Simply be offended by everyone else’s religious expression…

… Our own government continues to refer to this day [Wednesday] as the Day of Woden, clearly embracing one religious view over others.   Even our public schools embrace Woden, throughout school publications and practices.  While I’m not steeped in Teutonic lore, I suspect, based on our monthly cafeteria calendars, that Woden remains the Teutonic Lord of pizza square, pear, brownie and choice of milk.

… Not to mention these “Saturdays” we keep having!   I try to be open-minded about this stuff, but c’mon:  “Saturn” is just the Roman equivalent of the Greek god “Cronus”.  What did Cronus do?  Oh, boy.

‘Cronus was the ruling Titan who came to power by castrating his Father Uranus. His wife was Rhea. There offspring were the first of the Olympians. To insure his safety Cronus ate each of the children as they were born…’

That’s pretty much not cool.   I don’t want to judge, I’d have to walk a mile in his shoes, etc., but — I don’t know, man — this just seems out of line. 

But he gets his own DAY for that.  He castrates his dad, eats his kids…and then mall stores honor Cronus with “Saturday Sales Events”?  I don’t even want to know what goes down at those things. 

So yeah, stop saying “Saturday” around me.  New rule:  Even if the culture is steeped in it, and even if most even prefer it; even if it might seem to be reasonable to expect I could accommodate it, heck, even if it IS Saturday:  don’t say it.”

From “Don’t Tell Me It’s Wednesday” over at Letters from Kamp Krusty.

__________

It looks like one of my two favorite new shows of the season is finished: Journeyman has not been given a full-season pick-up by NBC. It’s really a shame. I know that many people dismissed it as a rip-off  of Quantum Leap  (another great one) just because of it’s time-travel plot, but really folks, that’s like saying Firefly was a Star Trek rip-off because both were about people who travel in space during the future. Journeyman managed to incorporate a broad range of stories and genres in each episode: mystery, suspense, police procedurals, journalism, urban legends, and family drama (the dynamics of the conflict between main character Dan and his estranged brother Jack made for one of the most realistically portrayed sibling rivalries I have ever seen). What’s more, it had one of the best casts around, including the excellent Kevin McKidd (whom I had not heard of before) and Reed Diamond (formerly of my all-time favorite Homicide: Life on the Street) as the feuding brothers. If you missed out, rent the inevitable DVD set when it comes out. You’ll be glad you did.

__________

Mystery quote:

 “Walter, man, why is everything a travesty with you?

Peace.

Filed under: Quick Hits, , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. David B says:

    Couldn’t get into Journeyman, sorry. I watched the first few episodes but it became one of those that wasn’t interesting enough to watch; don’t ask me why I didn’t really care for it, I just didn’t. If we watched anything at that time it was reruns of That 70s Show or WWE Raw.

    Don’t worry about being a Scrooge. Maybe we need to put you in Congress…if we had a few more scrooges in there, our federal debt would not be somewhere in the neighborhood now of $10 trillion.

  2. carl says:

    Shayna never got into Journeyman either but I thought it was great. Of course if I like it, that means it’s doomed..

  3. Kelli says:

    Kevin McKidd was on Rome (the HBO series). It’s very violent and has a lot of sex/nudity (well, it IS an HBO show), but once you get past that (it’s hard at times) :), it’s pretty good and the reason WHY i wanted to watch Journeyman. I loved McKidd’s character on Rome. he’s an awesome actor. i’m pretty upset Journeyman is off the air.

  4. odgie says:

    Dave – There is no accounting for taste. Speaking for myself, I never got into LOST or X-Files, and people always look at me weird when I tell them that.

    Carl – When it comes to preferences, your story is my story…

    Kelli – An HBO show with violence and nudity?! Say it ain’t so! Of course, I dug The Sopranos, so I can’t complain. I tried to watch DEADWOOD but kept getting distracted by the beyond excessive profanity. Your comments on ROME have piqued my curiosity, I may pick it up on DVD. Don’t worry about McKidd; i’m sure he will continue to find work.

  5. Kelly says:

    “It’s a Wonderful Life?” What about “A Christmas Story?” Only the greatest Christmas movie ever! “You’ll shoot your eye out, kid!”

    Again I got that quote, but will leave it for other, less Odgie-related folks to figure.

    “The Dude abides.”

  6. Katherine says:

    I haven’t watched It’s a Wonderful Life yet (usually I do that about the same time we put up the tree), so it doesn’t feel like Christmas yet! Isn’t it funny the things that “make” a holiday (or holiday season as the case may be) for each of us?
    🙂

  7. rollerpimp says:

    I am at a loss on the quote…

  8. odgie says:

    “The Big Lebowski,” at the end, when they go to the beach to scatter Donnie’s (Steve Buscemi) ashes.

Leave a Reply

