And Another Thing…

Icon

End of the blogging break

It has been a hard semester.

Back in the fall I shared information about the courses that I was taking. One of those courses was Research. The last time a course ate my lunch like this was when I took Greek as an undergraduate Bible major.

The stressful situation that I asked believers to pray about a few posts back was finishing this semester, especially my Research class. I don’t know why, but the stress over this began affecting me physically. Headaches, chest pains, sweats, anxiety, and nausea were common responses whenever I worked on assignments from that class or even when I had to attend it.  A heartfelt “thank you” to everyone who responded to my request.

While blaming others is a habit I try hard not to fall in to, I do think that on this occasion some of the blame must go on the instructor. Every student who had this instructor in two different sections of this class had the same complaints about being held accountable for learning things that we were not being taught in the classroom. What is more, this instructor is quite prolific in publishing so no matter how much we complain, the school will take no action. It is exasperating and nerve-wracking.

Having said all of that, I have decided that if I am going to express myself freely on this blog, I need to not “leave a trail” that can come back on me. I have removed all references to my school by name in any posts or links. Long-time readers may remember where I am attending, but if you comment I ask that you not refer to the school by name for two reasons. 1) I don’t want to cast an otherwise excellent program in a negative light, and 2) I don’t want anything I say to come back and bite me on the rear. Please be conscientious.

I am going to try to put all of this out of my mind, at least for a little while. Christine and I will be hosting my family for Christmas, and we are getting more and more excited. We just bought our first live Christmas tree. I cannot wait to see my parents, brother, nephew, and my brother’s girlfriend; nor can I wait to dive into some wild turkey (the bird, not the drink) and my mother’s sublime dressing. I am looking forward to me and my brother’s traditional last-minute shopping rampage. And I am looking forward to spending some much-needed time with my infinitely patient and thoughtful wife. I couldn’t do it without her.

Filed under: School, , , ,

4 Responses

  1. rollerpimp says:

    I told you that ITT Technical Institute was not the place to go to for social work.

  2. odgie says:

    Yeah, I should have gone to Searcy Foothills Vo-Tech.

  3. erinlcox says:

    I beg your pardon, but I do believe you mean ASU Searcy. Yes, that’s right, we’re moving up in the world! 🙂

  4. […] that future. What’s more, despite the schedule I have to keep and the demands of dealing with Dr. Sunshine, I am having the best educational experience of my life. The work is challenging and satisfying. […]

Leave a Reply

