And Another Thing…

Icon

Things that none of us should care about

ateam.jpg

According to AICN, John Singleton (Boyz in the Hood, Shaft, Four Brothers) is the current front-runner to direct the big screen version of The A-Team. One has to wonder several things: First of all, why? Second, how many more old TV shows can they plunder for cinematic defilement? Third, will the team finally be able to actually hit anyone when they fire their guns? Finally, who will they cast? For some reason, I can see John Travolta as Hannibal, Michael Clarke Duncan (Coffey from The Green Mile) as B.A., and Johnny Knoxville as Murdock. Does it really matter who they cast as Face? Sound off, all of you geeks out there – who would you cast and why?

Filed under: Movies, ,

8 Responses

  1. Trey says:

    Good choices on actors. I always liked Face. And I love it when a plan comes together.

  2. carl says:

    I know Shayna had that already mapped out..I never really got into the A-team. Knight Rider though..that’s a different story!

  3. Shayna says:

    I would cast Mel Gibson as Hannibal, Michael Clarke Duncan as B.A., Jim Carrey as Murdock, and maybe Jude Law as Face. Though I too am stuck on who would be a good Face.

  4. odgie says:

    Trey – I pity the fool who doesn’t love it when a plan comes together.

    Carl – If they bring back Knight Rider, they should bring back the Hoff. Germans would be apoplectic.

    Shayna – I like your picks, but I don’t think Jim Carrey does roles like that anymore; he is trying to be a “serious actor.”

  5. rollerpimp says:

    A-Team is actually a pretty cool idea if they did it more realistically. I think the most imporrtnant casting would be be Col. Decker. That would of course need to be mr. Chrisistopher walken.

  6. odgie says:

    Pimp – I don’t remember who Decker was, but hey, any chance to Chris on screen. Can you imagine his delivery:

    “Hello…we have to capture these criminals, because they are…bad…Frankenstein never frightened me”

  7. dangoldfinch says:

    Personally, I think the A-Team ought to be left alone. They will find a way to ruin it like they did the Dukes of Hazzard and the Transformers and Starsky and Hutch. No one will replace George Peppard as Hannibal–maybe Sir Anthony Hopkins (he plays Hannibal well.) Someone will find a way to sex it up, make it beyond bloody, and, worst, make it something more than the parody and satire that it was. I think they ought to leave well enough alone. I don’t want to see a sexed up B.A. or that black van pimped out more than it was. What’s next, Airwolf the motion picture? Maybe Jan Michael Vincent could play a part. Gimme a break. But was there ever a better character name on TV than Stringfellow Hawk? What a cool name. Out.

  8. […] Posts Things that none of us should care aboutAmerican Movie “Classics””In the midst of life…Chris Isaak at Wolf Trap 8/1/07Why I DoubtPrayers […]

Leave a Reply

