And Another Thing…

Icon

Quick Hits II: Attack of the Phantom Clones

Disclosure: I am writing this because I am procrastinating. If I had any discipline, I would be doing a “data extraction” on five articles for my Research class.

__________

Soliciting people with artistic ability: In my Mental, Emotional, and Behavioral Disorders class, we are required to come up with a work of art that demonstrates a disorder. No, I am not kidding. It can be a visual work, a song, a poem, etc. This bugs me a little bit. There is a reason that I did not follow my childhood dream of becoming a comic-book artist: I can’t draw or paint to save my life. There is a reason that I don’t play in a band, even as a hobby despite the guitar lessons I took throughout high school: I have no musical talent whatsoever. Finally, there is a reason that I am not a professional writer: well, those of you who stop by here regularly know why I am not a professional writer.

Here is where the solicitation part comes in: I need ideas, people! Quick! So share your thoughts. However, I am not doing an interpretive dance.

__________

A moratorium: In the U.S., Christians and Atheists alike should stop claiming that they are being oppressed or discriminated against. In my strolls through the blogosphere, I can always find a blog about atheism or one about Christianity bemoaning how hard it is to live in a culture that “hates” them for their respective beliefs. To my brothers and sisters in Christ: Schools that don’t have mandatory moments of silence, clerks making $6.65 an hour who won’t say “Merry Christmas,” and snarky comments on blogs (ahem) do not qualify as oppression or discrimination. Believers in the Sudan or China would rightly laugh if they knew the things that we get up in arms about. To atheists (specifically, the blog-jockey kind): Somebody attempting to share their faith with you is not oppression. Granted, if you tell them you are not interested and they keep at it, you have a right to be annoyed. But until Uncle Sam comes and tells you that you have to listen to what they say, stop whining. And by the way, people of faith don’t hate or fear you. The reason that there may never be an atheist president is “Vote for me, you religious idiots!” is not a good campaign slogan. Let’s face it folks: everyone hates being disagreed with. All of us struggle with tolerating the dissenting opinion. That’s not a result of a point-of-view, that’s a result of being human.

__________

I am revising my earlier opinion on Journeyman. This show keeps getting better and better. By the way, this last Monday’s episode of Heroes was the best so far this season. Not only did we learn how the Petrelli brothers survived the explosion at the end of last season, we finally got to see the point of Hiro’s seemingly interminable (and boring) sojourn to medieval Japan. And they also finally delivered some more cool action. Now, if we can just get rid of Claire’s annoying boyfriend and do something interesting with the brother and sister trying to cross the border, the show might get back on track.

__________

Mystery quote:

“These people tried to hang me, and they have been killed for it.”

Hint: It’s from a western. Peace.

Filed under: Quick Hits, , , , , , , ,

9 Responses

  1. rollerpimp says:

    Art with a disorder? Most people would say all artists have a disorder.

    Van Gohg. I would think cutting off your ear and mailing it to someone has to be something good.

    http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/docent/Vincent%2520Van%2520Gogh,%2520self-portrait.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/docent/portrait1.htm&h=400&w=332&sz=24&tbnid=81ouPskRoW20GM:&tbnh=124&tbnw=103&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dvan%2Bgogh%2Bself%2Bportrait%26um%3D1&start=3&sa=X&oi=images&ct=image&cd=3

    Shel Silverstein poems
    Us – Could be about schizophrenia
    Hector the Collector – Isn’t hording a mental disorder?

    I doubt any of this helped.

    Quote – I am going to guess as being from “High Plains Drifter.” One of the best “stranger” movies AND it has a midget. Guns and midgets a glorious union.

  2. rollerpimp says:

    I also meant to say that Van Gohg did a painting of the himself after cutting off said ear.

  3. Kelly says:

    Man, that moratorium hit home big time. I share your frustration! Unfortunately I have no idea how to get people on either side of the issue to harden up a little bit and not be so thin-skinned. If you really believe something so strongly, why is it so hard to ignore others’ beliefs and not be so easily offended?

    No idea on the art thing. You seem to have ruled out all forms of artistic expression. I have some very funny pictures in my mind of you doing performance art, involving the use of a blivet!

    I know the quote, but will try to stay out of it so others may guess.

  4. Katherine says:

    I’d go with poetry. Read a little Gertrude Stein to get inspired. šŸ™‚

  5. David B says:

    The problem with your ‘moratorium’ paragraph is it denies people the current feeling of victimization. Not only do we not want to hear things that we will disagree with, but everybody wants to be a victim, to be pitied, to have people surrounding them and telling them how righteous they are.

    Political correctness
    +
    an pverwhelming emphasis on self-esteem
    =
    the current bitter culture wars

  6. I have a poem about a mid-life crisis, but I’m not sure if that is considered a disorder. Let me know if you want it. I am in an acrylics/oil painting class, but I don’t think I would be able to do something for you as soon as you need it. I have an idea, though. You could illustrate narcissism by drawing a cartoon of someone walking down a path, and the face of the person could be in every flower, on the sun, on clouds, reflected in a pond, etc. That’s all I could come up with quickly.

  7. rollerpimp says:

    So what’s the answer?

  8. odgie says:

    Drum roll for the mystery quote – the movie is “The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean.”

    David B: Right on all counts. Being able to count one’s self a “victim” is the brass ring in current social discourse in the U.S.

    Jerri: Unfortunately, you are right that mid-life crisis does not count. However, the narcissism idea is a good one. I have always wanted to get a t-shirt that says, “I’m not narcissistic, it really is all about me.”

    Kelly: There is always a place for a blivet in artistic expression.

Leave a Reply

