And Another Thing…

Icon

Is Bruce too “subversive” or just too old?

220px-bruce_springsteen_front.jpgClear Channel, the corporate radio hogs who insure that as little interesting music as possible gets on the radio, have issued a ban on on all songs off of Bruce Springsteen’s new album, Magic.  CC has shown a political bias in the past, banning artists that have been critical of the Bush administration. However, I can’t help but wonder if this decision was made simply because they believe that Bruce, at 58, is too old to catch on with kids nowadays (the 500,000+ copies of Magic that have already sold notwithstanding).  “Y’know, cause, he has like grey hair and wrinkles and stuff…and some of his band members are like, totally bald.”

 I have only heard one song off of the album, “Radio Nowhere,” but I have to say that it rocks hard and that Bruce and the E Street Band sound better than they have in years. Maybe CC finds these lyrics from “Radio Nowhere” unsuitable for mass consumption:

I was tryin’ to find my way home
But all I heard was a drone
Bouncing off a satellite
Crushin’ the last lone American night
This is radio nowhere, is there anybody alive out there?

A subtle jab at Clear Channel? One can’t help but wonder. I saw Bruce and the boys at the Capital Centre in 1988, and they blew the roof off of the place. Bruce gives 110% in his shows, and his band has the type of sound that you only hear from people who have played together for years. Many people have compared his concerts to a religious revival, and I don’t think that comparison is off-base at all. 

Let’s face it, no matter what your taste, free radio nowadays sucks. While CC and it’s affiliates clog the airwaves with the under-dressed tart or pretty-boy of the month, people who are trying to produce music with a longer shelf-life than one week are getting squeezed off of the air. Thank heaven for the Internet…otherwise, none of us would ever hear anything new and interesting.

Mark Elrod has an interesting take on this at the Lame-O-Weblog. Check it out.

Filed under: Music, Rants, , , ,

4 Responses

  1. Trey Morgan says:

    Never been a huge Boss fan, but I’ve liked some of his songs. I did love him back in the 80’s where I grew up. After having Sirus satellite radio … I can’t go back to FM radio anymore. The commercials are killing me. Internet radio is great too.

  2. odgie says:

    Random fact-Fox used this song while showing Red Sox clips at the end of Game four of the world series. It alternated between shots of Bruce singing and the Red Sox

  3. David B says:

    I don’t listen to FM pop radio anymore unless my wife is driving and she wants to listen to Delilah after Dark or something that. You know, you can never get enough of “Wind Beneath My Wings”. I honestly have no idea who 90% of the bands or singers are these days. When I do listen to music on Yahoo radio, usually it’s something like 80’s rock, because you can never get enough of Scorpions and Dire Straits.

    I suppose this is just another example of the micro-fracturing of American culture, to go along with the overall homogenization of that same culture. We want the same kinda stuff everybody else wants (Hello, Applebees!), but we don’t want to be confronted with anything that might challenge us. I haven’t thought this all the way through yet, but inevitably those things that are niche products (such as Bruce Springsteen) get tossed aside by all but the few genuine fans that he has.

  4. Kelly says:

    I like the new song, don’t know about the whole record. Bruce’s super-consistent great days are behind him, but I’m sure he’s still capable of putting together an excellent album.

    I am fortunate to live in an area where there is a little decent FM radio (one really good all-volunteer station, and a couple of NPR shows) but overall I agree that FM, and especially the big money companies, is a wasteland. And the saddest part is there IS some great music still being made, but if you don’t know where to find it you’re not gonna stumble upon it on the radio.

    I’m sure CC banned the song for the content, it’s not like 1984 when there would have been a huge uproar. Hell, it’s good for Bruce to still be able to piss somebody off!

Leave a Reply

