And Another Thing…

Icon

Yet another concert and more school goodness

crenshaws-first-album.jpg

Sunday night Christine and I got to see Marshall Crenshaw (see link under Artists & Bands I Dig to the right) at Jammin Java. She bought the tickets back in September for my birthday. Our friends Matt and Laurie were able to join us for a great evening.

Readers over 30 may remember when Crenshaw broke big back in 1982. He had one huge single and two smaller hits off of his first album (pictured above), “Someday, Someway,” (the huge one), “Something’s Gonna Happen,” and “There She Goes Again.” He has not broken the Top 40 since then, but he has been steadily productive and maintained a loyal fan base. Sunday night he dusted off his classics, including the tunes listed above as well as “Whenever You’re On My Mind,” “What Do You Dream Of?” and “Cynical Girl”. He played some choice covers, including Merle Haggard’s “Silver Wings” and an obscure rockabilly number called (i’m not kidding) “The Girl on Death Row”. He kept the crowd stomping, clapping, and singing along.

For the life of me, I don’t know why Crenshaw never made it any bigger than he did. His songs are catchy, smart, and fun; they are easy to sing along or dance to. He is a fine singer and creative guitarist. It may be that he has always been a little out of step with what is fashionable in music. The interesting artists of the 80s were overwhelmed by hair metal. In the 90s, the masses became obsessed with grunge. As always, the music industry punishes people who try to make interesting music without paying homage to the style and trend gods. Such is life. If you want more info about Crenshaw, visit his page. 

_______________________________________________________________

I gave a presentation in all 3 of my classes at grad school, and I am truly sick of my own voice. In Child Welfare my partner and I spoke on the topic of community outreach to families and children. The main lesson we (and hopefully our audience) took away is that outreach works best as a preventative measure. We found a wide variety of innovative programs to at-risk youth and their families that can hopefully prevent or minimize the kinds of crises that can wreck families. We also found that the Child Welfare League of America is currently leading the way in outreach. If you have any interest in these issues, check their site; and if any readers are interested, I will elaborate on this further.

In the Research class my team and I……..snore…..oh sorry, I drifted off. I’ll spare you, gentle reader. Finally, in Disorders I gave my Diagnosis Hollywood presentation, and my brother Kelly guessed it right; I diagnosed the character of Bud White from L.A. Confidential. I actually enjoyed preparing this assignment as it gave me an excuse to watch one of my favorite movies again and the opportunity to apply some of what I am learning. Best of all, the professor did not eat my lunch in front of the class, which is always a good thing.

By the way, if any of you have read George Will’s recent op-ed piece about indoctrination in schools of social work, don’t worry about me. I have never claimed to be the smartest cat around, but I always have and always will think for myself. Going through a social work program is like going to any other liberal arts program; you take the meat and leave the bones. While Will has shown some insight from time to time, on this matter he doesn’t know what he is talking about.

Filed under: Music, Politics, School, , , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Kelly says:

    Glad you enjoyed the Crenshaw show, I’d like to see him one of these days. George Will has some points in that piece, and you know I’m not a fan, but for the most part he is missing the point. And I am still waiting on my prize.

  2. ejackson says:

    Here is the Response from NASW’s Executive Director that was sent to the Washington Post. http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/10/19/AR2007101902281.html

    Code of Concern

    Dear Washington Post Editors:

    Conservative columnist George F. Will has taken public umbrage with the National Association of Social Workers’ (NASW) Code of Ethics and its mandate that adherents advocate for social justice. In his review of a National Association of Scholars report, Mr. Will ignores the context in which professional education and training occurs—for all professions. This criticism misrepresents social work education and is a disservice to our members and the clients they serve.

    Social workers are committed to solving social problems while helping people improve their quality of life; fairness is a defining characteristic of the profession. Like all citizens of a participatory democracy, it is critical for social work students to develop the skills necessary to advocate within available legal and political structures.

    Social work students learn to use advocacy for the benefit of individuals, families and populations who are most vulnerable to the unresolved social problems of the day. Services for veterans, children, chronically ill persons, the elderly, and struggling families are improved by social work advocacy.

    Members of NASW hold a diverse array of opinions on many social issues, including abortion and homosexuality as mentioned in Will’s column. However, professional social workers are united in their commitment to respecting the rights of clients to access services and expand options available to them. Social workers do not apologize for caring about people who are marginalized by society, nor do we apologize for holding members of our profession to high standards.

    Elizabeth J. Clark, PhD, MSW, MPH
    Executive Director
    National Association of Social Workers

  3. odgie says:

    Ms. Jackson,

    Thank you for the response.

Leave a Reply

