And Another Thing…

Icon

Is it really worth it?

Thanks to Jeff over at Atheocracy for putting me on to this one.

This past weekend stand-up comic Kathy Griffin made some off-color jokes about Christianity while accepting an Emmy for her cable show.  In response, Catholic League president Bill Donahue has issued a press release demanding that the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences denounce Griffin’s comments.

Were her remarks offensive? Certainly. She ended her speech with a nasty remark that you wouldn’t want anyone saying to your mom, spouse, children, or God and then held up the award and shouted, “This is my god now!” On the other hand, during her acceptance speech she said: “a lot of people come up here and thank Jesus for this award. I want you to know that no one had less to do with this award than Jesus.” And you know what? At least on that point, she is right.

Before anyone’s head pops off, let me explain. Do we really buy it when celebrities thank God for their awards? How about when athletes thank God for the three pointer they shot or the touchdown they made? I don’t know these people and I can’t question their sincerity. Nor am I saying that God couldn’t intervene in these situations. But with all that is going on all over the world, I just don’t believe that God cares about entertainment awards or sports.

Which leads me to ask: is it really worth it for the Catholic League or the American Family Association (you know that they are going to get in on this) to go after Griffin? What are they hoping for, an apology? Suppose Donahue gets the Academy to denounce her. What will that amount to? She has already said it. The only thing that all of this indignance and huffing and puffing will accomplish is generating more publicity for Griffin.

Nobody asked, but my suggestion is to let it go and forgive. For that matter, maybe we believers should pray for Griffin.  We are supposed to be the ones who turn the other cheek and pray for our enemies, remember? To do otherwise gives Griffin a lot more credibility and power than she deserves.

Filed under: Faith and Religion

11 Responses

  1. WhoreChurch says:

    I think my faith has helped succeed in many things, though without too much ‘intervention.’ For the most part my faith has given me the confidence and encouragement to continue despite the normal opposition everyone encounters.

    I suspect the same is true for Scientologists or any other belief system one attempts to follow.

    And I like Kathy just the way she is. Well, she should let her hair be its naturally curly self, but otherwise.

  2. Trey Morgan says:

    I’m with you 100%. Let’s move on. I’m sure she love to be hammered in the news by a bunch of “Christians.” You know what they say, “even bad publicity is good.”

  3. inWorship says:

    I completely agree with you. We as Christians spend to much time fighting for our faith. Jesus never did this. We think we have to defend something that has already been defended. Sometimes I don’t think we remember that we’ve already won!

    There was a good post about this over at http://dangoldfinch.wordpress.com as well. Similar take.

  4. Kelly says:

    Hear, hear! I imagine her before the show saying to herself, “What can I do if I win to get the most publicity…” And of course the knee-jerkers are going to give it to her. So obviously calculated…

  5. odgie says:

    WC: Welcome, and thanks for for commenting.

    Trey and Brent: Thanks for commenting. Now how do you suppose we might sell Bill Donahue and Donald Wildmon on this? 🙂

    Kelly: Good call. I remember watching “Politically Incorrect” years ago and I noticed an interesting pattern – the more a guest’s career was fading (or if the guest had never gotten too far) the more they bashed religion. It is like the outcasts in high school who tried to become popular buy imitating the popular kids. Sad, really.

  6. jwhaws says:

    I want to thank God (and odgie) for the link back to my blog. Through Him, all links are made.

  7. I may pray for her but you can’t make me watch her.

  8. odgie says:

    Jeff: Welcome, and kind of you to mention me. However, don’t forget to thank WordPress… 🙂

    BWH: Welcome; I don’t watch her either.

  9. rollerpimp says:

    I agree with what you say for the most part. Idiots like Marilyn Manson and Bill Mahr would have had much shorter careers if people had just ignored them and not given them press. Talent will overrule a big mouth.
    I disagree though with saying “with all that is going on in the world.” Statements like this put God in a box. Where do we draw the line of what is important and what is not? He wants us to bring the small things to him as well as the big.
    Oh and by the way you made me laugh out loud with the Mrs.Rollerpimp listing. HAHAHAHAHAHA!

  10. […] a little more commentary on the whole KG saga, visit this link: And Another Thing. In part: Nobody asked, but my suggestion is to let it go and forgive. For that matter, maybe we […]

  11. […] can’t help but find all of this somewhat amusing. Donahue has always made me laugh, given his penchant for decrying every snide remark, every joke made at Catholicism’s […]

Leave a Reply

