And Another Thing…

Icon

Better than they were before

“Don’t you know we’re living in stolen moments

You steal enough it feels like we’re stopping time

These days are gold we’re living in stolen moments

Just grab a hold these days are yours and mine”

– John Hiatt

          Those who have worked with me know that when working on a project I regularly stop and review everything that has been done so far. Over the years I have found that it allows me to improve on existing ideas, correct past mistakes, and develop new ideas for the next steps.  Not surprisingly, I tend to approach everything this way.  It may not be the most efficient method, but it works best for me. Consequently, I see birthdays as the perfect opportunity to review my life and think about my next steps. Since I turned 36 on Sunday, the time has come once again to evaluate and assess. What did I get right and wrong in the past year? How can I make habits out of my accomplishments and not repeat my mistakes? Instead of wondering if I did a “good” or “bad” job, I wonder if I improved. Am I a better believer, son, brother (literally and spiritually), uncle, friend, employee, student, and now, husband than I was a year ago?  Did I make the best choices I could in each situation? Always the social worker, I try to assess these things based on the outcomes. What are the results in my life? Am I happier and/or wiser?

          I can certainly say that I am happier.  The past year has been eventful, chaotic, and profoundly satisfying in so many ways.  In August of last year Christine and I joined a new small group at church that has been a tremendous blessing. In September I began my two-day-a-week internship with The Arc of Northern Virginia.  It was a great place to work alongside some fine colleagues, serving some deserving clients, and learning about advocacy for the disabled.  The internship lasted until May.  On top of this, I was working full-time and taking 6 hours of course work each semester.  As much as I enjoyed my classes and the internship, I have never looked forward to summer more in my life. In March I bought my first place, which was alternately exhausting and exhilarating.  However, moving my belongings (and eventually, Christine’s) was just exhausting.  (Being the owner of a pick-up, I have helped many people move many belongings over the years; so I called in all my chits for this move.) Best of all, on May 19th, I stood up, surrounded by family and friends, and married the love of my life.  Some year, huh?  It was all worth it…I wouldn’t trade a minute (except for the moving).

          There is no comparing where I am now to where I was a few years ago.  During the Dark Ages (how I refer to my 20s) my life was a seemingly endless chain of failures and disappointments.  I took the road less traveled, and ended up in the ditch.  While my life now is far from perfect, it is better than I had come to expect it to be. My family is in good health. My friends are plentiful, and I am proud to count them as friends. My faith, battered as it is, is still alive.  I am in a line of work that offers me endless challenges and a great future. I am married to a sweet, generous, loving, patient, and beautiful woman whose love for me, inexplicable as it is, is strong and real and evident in so many ways.  At 36, I can see how blessed I am that my adult life has not been what I thought it would be when I was 20.          

          There are things that I would change about the present. I wish that I was done with school, but I am starting to see a light at the end of the tunnel. I wish that my faith were stronger, but they say that God rewards the tenacious, so I will stay in the game and accept that struggling with doubt is part of the package.  I have nothing to complain about and much to celebrate.  Things now are better than they were before; and that is all I can ask. Another line from the song I quoted at the beginning of this post sums it up:

 “Well I could’nt dream this life i’m living

Somehow we just survived, and every waste of time forgiven”

 

Love and peace to all. 

Filed under: Uncategorized

6 Responses

  1. preacherman says:

    Mike,
    Great post brother.
    I hope you have a blessed week.
    May God make all your plans this week succeed as you serve and put your trust in Him.

  2. odgie says:

    Thank you, Preacherman; and thanks for coming by.

  3. Trey Morgan says:

    Love your blog. I also love getting to know you better.

    Blessings,

    Trey

  4. odgie says:

    Thank you Trey, and I thoroughly enjoy your blog as well. Don’t be a stranger.

  5. odgie says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Matthew. Hope to see you again soon.

Leave a Reply

